Search This Blog

Monday, 30 April 2012

Updated Williams Genealogy

The Williams family, who settled in Dublin at the end of the 18th century, were the founders of the City of Dublin Steam Packet Company in 1823.  My maternal great-great grandfather, Richard Williams, worked as the bookkeeper for the company and lived at their headquarters of 17 Eden Quay throughout the 1840s.  I suspect a family link - unproven as yet - between the Williams of the CDSPCo and our own great-great grandfather.   This post gives the known history of the Williams family of Wales and Dublin.
Much additional information and clarification have kindly been provided by Dr. David Williams, a descendant of Sir Robert Williams, the 9th Baronet of Penrhyn.

The Williams family had their origins in the Welsh town of Conwy or Conway (now in the County Borough of Conwy), and in particular, in Pen-yr-allt, which is just beyond Conway on the North Wales coast.  Pen-yr-allt is believed to have been the birthplace of the merchant tailor, Roger Williams, and was given to him on the death of his father, Sir Griffith Williams, the 1st Baronet. I've decided to use the Anglicised spellings of Welsh names and places.

Sir Griffith Williams, 1st Baronet of Penrhyn, and Gwen Bodwrda:
Sir Griffith Williams, the son of Robert Williams of Conway and of Elizabeth Griffith, inherited Penrhyn from his unmarried uncle, who died intestate in 1650, Archbishop John Williams of York, who had earlier purchased both Cochwillan, the seat of his ancestors, and Penrhyn, the seat of the Griffiths family. Sir Griffiths Williams later erected a memorial for the Archbishop in the parish church of Llandegai near Bangor.

(An interesting aside - the Williams family of Cochwillan, the Williams of Meillionydd, the Williams-Bulkeley family of Penrhyn  and the Griffiths family of Penrhyn (amongst other North Wales families) descend directly from  a Welsh nobleman named Sir Tudor ap Ednyfed Vychan who was married to Adlais, the granddaughter of Griffith ap Cynan, the King of North Wales. 
This Ednyfed Vychan later married a second woman, Gwenllian, the daughter of Rhys ap Griffith, a Lord of South Wales.  Their grandson was Tudor ap Grono of Penmynedd, who built the priory at Bangor and did homage for his lands to Edward I at Chester.
 Tudor's great-great- grandson, Sir Owen Tudor, married Catherine de Valois, the youngest daughter of Charles VI, the King of France. Catherine was the widow of Henry V of England, and the mother of Henry VI.
Catherine and Sir Owen Tudor, who was beheaded in 1461 for his role in the Wars of the Roses, had a son, Edmund Tudor, who was created the Earl of Richmond in 1452 by Henry VI.  Edmund married Lady Margaret Beaufort, the daughter and heir of John, Duke of Somerset and died in 1456, leaving an only son, Henry VII who was the King of England and the founder of the royal house of Tudor.)

Sir Griffith Williams (circa 1603 - 1663) married Gwen Bodurda (other spellings -Bodwrda/Bodwrdda) of Bodwrda near Aberdaron, in the modern County of Gwynedd, about 50 miles south of Conwy - she was the daughter of Hugh Dodwrda Esq.
Griffith Williams was created a baronet in 1658 by Cromwell and by Charles II on 17th June 1661.
Gwen Williams gave birth to 19 children; the baptisms of some of them appear in the Conway Parish Register which has been published to the internet on Google Books.

1627 - 'Elin Wys filia Gruffin Wys et Gwen mater eius undecimo Octobris.'

1629 - 'Dorithe Willms the daughter of Gruffith Willms and Gwen for mother the 29 of ffebr 1629.'

1632 - 'Katherine Wyms the daughter of Gruff Wyms and Gwen her mother the xxii Januarie/.'

1639 - 'William and Gruffith the sonnes of Gruff:Williams, gent., by Gwen Bodwrda, his wife, were baptised the 6th day of Aprille 1639.'

1640 - Gaynor duur to Gr Williams gen. et Gwen his (sic) mother xviiii u 1640.'

The baptism of the  couple's son, Roger Williams, from whom our Irish branch of this family descends, was recorded in 1645 - 'Roger Wms the son of Gruff. Wms the 24 Junii.'

Other children were the eldest son, Sir Robert Williams, later the 2nd baronet; Hugh Williams, born in 1628, who became Sir Hugh Williams, the 5th Baronet of Penrhyn; Edmund, date unclear; John Williams, born 1643;  a daughter Grace, born circa 1653 - 1658, and Elizabeth, date unknown.

At the time of Sir Griffith William's death in 1663,  there were only five sons still living - Robert, Hugh, Edmund, John and our Roger Williams.

Gwen, the widow of Sir Griffith Williams, died in 1674, and the burial was recorded in the Conway Parish Register - 'Domine Gwenna Williams uxor Griggi: Williams Barti 12 Novembris.'

Roger Williams (1645 - 1705) and Mary Curtiss:
Upon the death of his father in 1663, Roger Williams, the fifth son, inherited the family property of Pen-yr-allt near Conway, along with the neighbouring Tal-y-cafn ferry. These were inherited later by Roger's own son, rev. Griffith Williams, the Rector of North Runcton in Norfolk, who passed them on to his only child, Mary Williams;  she sold the ferry to her relation, Sir Hugh Williams, the 8th Baronet, who was the grandson of Roger Williams' older brother, Edmund Williams of Eirianws.
(Tal-y-cafn means 'place opposite the ferry-boat';  there had been a ferry here since about 1301, which provided a crossing-point for the River Conwy.)

Roger Williams of Fleet Street was a merchant tailor being admitted to livery in London on 16th October 1674 (his master being William Saunders) and to freedom on 29 July 1668. He was removed from livery by warrant of King James II dated 17 February 1687 - in this year James II wished to pack Parliament with his supporters so that he could repeal the penal laws against Catholics; he therefore carried out a purge of those opposed to his plan, including 1000 members of the City of London livery companies who were ejected forthwith.
From The Merchant Taylor’s Membership Index:
Roger Williams, freedom 29/07/1668.  His master was William Saunders.  Livery: 16/10/1674.  Comments: ‘Was removed from Livery by Order of James II dated 17th February 1687.

Roger Williams was paid £105 by the Treasury for the supply of uniforms to the Duke of Monmouth's Regiment of Foot in 1686.

A contributor to the LDS website, J.W. Renaud, has provided the following information on Roger Williams, merchant tailor of London:
   'Roger Williams of Penyralt (sp?) was the fifth son . He was an officer in customs and a woolen draper in Fleet St. He invented a scarlet dye and had the contract to supply military uniforms.
    Roger Williams died in 1705.'


The claim that Roger Williams was a customs officer seems to be incorrect - there were several other Roger Williams in London at this time - but the Whitehall records support the fact that he was involved in the woollen trade:

Nov. 2 1676:  'The Lord Treasurer directs that Mr. Henry Browne, Mr. Roger Williams, Mr. John Gore and Mr. Philip Coleby be paid 1,094l. 6s. 11d. presently out of money in Mr. Stephens's hands being a third part of what is due to them for clothes forwarded for the soldiers going to Virginia, upon which payment they are to deliver the whole quantity of cloths provided and are to receive the remainder of their money by two equal payments, the first to be a month from this day and the other a month after that. Further 58l. 6s. 8d. for contingencies is to be immediately paid to Col. Jeffreys by Mr. Stephens.' 


Dr. David Williams has also recently discovered that Roger Williams, who was actually a woolen merchant, as opposed to a merchant tailor, was declared bankrupt in 1689/1690, along with his business partner, Morgan Whitley.  Roger had also loaned money to his bankrupt brother-in-law, Cadwaladr Wynn, which added further to his disgrace at the time.  His partner, Morgan Whitley, was the Receiver General of North Wales, whose huge debts to the Treasury nearly ruined several prominent North Wales and Cheshire families, who had stood surety for him on his appointment.

Roger Williams married Mary the daughter of Norton Curtis Esq., of Morden in Surrey, just south of London.  They married in 1674, the same year that Roger was admitted to the Merchant Taylors guild. The registers for the parish church of Morden have been published to the internet and show up the marriage entry for Roger and Mary:
    'Roger Williams of St. Bride, London, widower, and Mary Curtis, spinster, about 25, who consents - at Morden, Battersea or Lambeth, Co. Surrey,  15th June 1674.'

(Also from the Morden Registers:  George, son of Norton Curteise and Mary, was baptised 1673; William, son of Norton and Mary, was baptised 3rd. February 1677; Edward was baptised 8th December 1679;  Norton Curteis, gentleman, died 1700.)

The children of Roger and Mary Williams were -

  • Rev. Griffith Williams, baptised 8th July 1675, Church of St. Bride, Fleet Street, London. Died 1718, North Runcton, Norfolk.
  • William Williams, baptised 26th July 1677, Church of St. Bride, Fleet Street, London. ( We are said to descend from William Williams, who was the father of Richard of Leighton Buzzard.). 
  • Mary Williams, born circa 1679. She was mentioned in the 1701 will of her father's sister-in-law, Dame Frances Williams.
  • Ann Williams, baptised 8th April 1681, Church of St. Bride, Fleet Street, London. Her uncle, Norton Curteis the Younger, in 1707/8, left her a legacy of £10 in his will.
  • Gwen Williams, baptised 26th April 1682, Church of St. Bride, Fleet Street, London.
  • Frances Williams, born circa 1684.  She was also mentioned in the 1707/8 will of her uncle Norton Curteis.
  • John Williams, born circa 1686.  Also mentioned in the will of Norton Curteis.
  • Roger Williams of Blackfriars or Shoreditch, London – born 1679.  Only some pedigrees include Roger as a son of Roger Williams, so a question mark hangs over this individual.
Roger Williams died in the latter half of 1705, and a Roger Williams was buried in 1705 in South London in the Church of St. Mary the Virgin, Putney, Surrey.    His wife, Mary Williams, née Curteis, died on 31st July 1710 and was also buried in the Church of St. Mary the Virgin in Putney.

Rev. Griffith Williams (1675 - 1718):
Dr. David Williams passed on plenty of information on Roger's eldest son, Rev. Griffith Williams.

The admissions records for Trinity,Cambridge show up information for the Rev. Griffith Williams, son of Roger Williams:
   
Entered: 1693; Adm. pens. (age 18) at TRINITY, June 28, 1693. S. of Roger. B. in London. School, Westminster. Matric. 1693; Scholar, 1694; B.A. 1696-7; M.A. 1700; B.D. 1708. Fellow, 1699. Ord. deacon (Lincoln) Mar. 12, 1703-4; priest (Ely) May 19, 1706. R. of North Runcton, Norfolk, 1715-8. Died Jan. 8, 1718.

Rev. Griffith Williams was ordained as a deacon on 12th March 1704 by the Bishop of Lincoln, James Gardiner;  on 19th May 1706, he was ordained as a priest by Simon Patrick, the Bishop of Ely, and was appointed as Rector to the parish of North Runcton in Norfolk on 18th April 1712 by Charles Trimmell, the Bishop of Norwich.

He married Ann Purland who had been born  May 19, 1698, and who was only 19 when her husband died in 1718.  She had a young daughter, Mary Williams (born circa 1716/1717), who inherited the family estate of Pen-yr-allt and the Tal-y-cafn ferry from her father.
The widowed Mary Williams, née Purland, went on to marry Griffith William's successor, Rev. Edward Rud, whose diary has been published to the net. The following passages describe his courtship of Ann Williams, at the house of her parents, Rev. Robert Purland, Vicar of East Walton and Vicar of Southacre, and Ursula Purland:

' (1719) May 14, when I went back to North-Rungton to lodge at Mrs. Williams’ house there: where I was received with such exceeding great civility and respect, especially by the Father and Mother, but I could not but suppose there was a meaning in it; and therefor soon began to proceed accordingly. The young widow was born May 19, 1698. I began to open a little May 18 being Whitsun-Monday.

 (1719) May 30. The young widow gave me a sort of promise that she would marry me; but June 5, we were formally contracted in verbis de præsenti, before her mother.

(1720) Jan. 20. I was marry’d at Walton to Mrs. Ann Williams, my Predecessor’s widow, by Mr. James Everard, Vicar of Middleton.'

Dr. David Williams came across an interesting connection here.  Ann Purland's father, Rev. Robert Purland, had been appointed to the post of Vicar of East Walton by Sir William Barkham, 2nd Baronet of Southacre Hall.  The 1st Baronet of Southacre was Sir Edward Barkham, whose daughter, Frances Barkham, was the second wife of Sir Robert Williams, the 2nd Baronet of Penrhyn.  Sir Robert Williams was, of course, the uncle of Rev. Griffith Williams.

Rev. Griffith Williams was commemorated with a plaque in the parish church of North Runcton: ' Gules, a chevron ermine between three Saracens’ heads, couped at the shoulders, in profile (Williams); impaling five wings in saltire, or (Purland), for “Rev. Griffith Williams S.T.B., Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, Rector of this Church, who died Jan. 8, 1718”.

His daughter and heiress, Mary, was under guardianship of Thomas Peirson of North Runcton; he made his will there in 1731.  A deed exists in the UK National Archives which mentions them both, also alludes to the Williams' Conway properties:

'Conveyed to Thomas Wright by his mother on his marriage 1641 and passed via John Elgar to John and Elizabeth Exton in 1695. With receipt from Thomas Peirson, guardian of Mary Williams, for deeds of Gryffith Williams' estates in Caernarvonshire and North Runcton 1732. Bundle also includes conveyance of a close of 5a in N. Runcton abutting Townesend Lane and Broadgate Way by trustees to Richard Holden 1658; and fine between Sir Snelling Thomas querent and Elizabeth Jefferyes and Henry and Anne Parr deforcients concerning messuage, orchard and land in North Runcton, Terrington St. Clement and Tilney, 1720.)'

Mary Williams was still living in 1764, but her date of death is unknown.

Richard Williams and Mary Hutchins of Leighton Buzzard:
Richard Williams was believed to be the son of William Williams, the third son of Roger Williams of Fleet St. and Conway, North Wales.  He had been born on 17th July 1719 in Carnarvon County - this information was provided by a later ancestor, Richard Palmer Williams, who did research in the 1860's into this. The place of birth may not be accurate, given that his branch of the family had already settled in London.  The names Richard and Thomas enter the Williams family at this point,

Richard Williams, by his coat of arms, handed down on his seal — viz. crest: a Saracen's head erased; the arms: gules, a chevron ermine, between three Saxons' heads couped; quarterly, with gules, a chevron argent between three stags' heads cabossed; motto: "Heb Dduw heb ddim, Duw a digon," shows him to have been of the ancient family of Williams of Penrhyn, Cochwillan, and Meillionydd, co. Carnarvon.
Dr. David Williams recently provided me with excellent explanatory information on his family coat of arms and motto: 'The heads are often described as “Saracen’s heads” or “Saxons’ Heads”, which is incorrect; they are more properly three “Englishmen’s heads”, and in Welsh Y Pen Sais (The Englishman’s Head) is the crest without the armorial bearings. The crest above the shield is a stag’s head. The motto Heb Dduw heb ddim, Duw a digon is usually rendered as Without God nothing, with God everything.
The legend is that our ancestor Ednyfed Fychan (d.1246), seneschal to the princes of Gwynedd, slew three Englishmen at the battle of Chester c.1210 and laid their severed heads at the feet of prince Llywelyn II ab Iorwerth. But the severed head goes back to ancient British times, and is said to have been the emblem of his 9th century ancestor Marchudd ap Cynan. There are several variants among some of the North Wales families.'

Richard Williams married Mary Hutchins in the Church of St. Mary Magdalene, Whipsnade, Bedford (near Leighton Buzzard) on 9th April 1740.  Mary Hutchins had been born on February 18th 1713 and was baptised on 25th February 1714.  It had been suggested that she may have been the daughter of Sir George Hutchins, a prominent English lawyer who had been the Keeper of The Great Seal and who died in 1705, but clearly the dates don't add up for this to be possible. (I've done research into Sir George and his family and failed to find a convincing connection.) She was actually the daughter of  John Hutchins (1687 - 1730) and Elizabeth Draper of Leighton Buzzard - the births of several of their children appear on the LDS website; there were nine of them in total.

The children of Richard and Mary Williams of Leighton Buzzard were as follows:

  • Hutchins Williams, born 26th December 1740 in Leighton Buzzard.
  • John Williams born 29th September 1742 in Leighton Buzzard.
  • William Williams born 31st March 1746 in Leighton Buzzard.
  • Thomas Williams born 30th December 1747 in Leighton Buzzard. Later the first Secretary of the Bank of Ireland.
  • Richard Williams born 29th December 1749 in Leighton Buzzard.
  • Mary Williams born 12th September 1751 in Leighton Buzzard.
  • Watkin William Williams born 28th December 1753 in Leighton Buzzard.
  • Watkin Win Williams born 1761 in Leighton Buzzard.

Hutchins Williams, the oldest son, was the father of John Jeffery Williams of Grays Inn, Holborn.  John Jeffery Williams was the father of John Dignan Williams, William Williams, Thomas Hutchins Williams/Hutchins ThomasWilliams, Mary Williams, Sarah Williams, Henry Williams and possibly our great-great grandfather, Richard Williams of 17 Eden Quay, although this last link is entirely unproven and is currently mere speculation on my part.
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2011/11/john-jeffery-williams-father-of-richard.html

Thomas Williams, the fourth son of Richard Williams and Mary Hutchins of Leighton Buzzard, moved to Dublin where he seems to have worked for a time in the textile industry before entering the bank - a Dublin deed involving him was witnessed in 1782 by a Watkin Wynn Williams, who must have been the youngest son of Richard Williams and Mary Hutchins of Leighton Buzzard. (Watkin Wynn Williams is not a common name in Ireland!)
Thomas Williams' nephew, or possibly his grand-nephew, William Williams, was admitted as a merchant to the Freedom of Dublin in 1817 - this was the son of one of his brothers. It is known that his older brother, Hutchins Williams of Hillingden, had a son, William, who had been born in 1774 in Hillingden.  Given the recycling of family names at that time, however, all of Thomas Williams' brothers probably had a son named William.
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2011/07/thomas-williams-first-secretary-to-bank.htm

Richard Williams, son of Thomas Williams of the Bank of Ireland, worked as an attorney on Dame Street.  From Hazel Smyth's 'Some Notes on Charles Wye Williams':
   'The Williams family had a burial place in St. Andrew's Church. This Church was rebuilt in 1793 and re-opened in 1807. It was re-built again in 1862, following a fire, as a result of which Richard acquired a vault in Mount Jerome on which is inscribed: "Richard Williams descended from Griffith Williams, 1st Baronet Penrhyn (1661)."

Richard, the son of Thomas Williams of the Bank of Ireland, is documented here:
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2011/11/further-details-on-family-of-thomas.html

Charles Wye Williams, son of Thomas Williams of the Bank of Ireland:
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2011/08/obituary-of-charles-wye-williams-1866.html


Footnote: It seems that the Williams of Dublin were well aware of their Welsh heritage. In 'The Welsh Book-Plates in the Collection of Sir Evan Davies Jones, Bart., MP. of Pentower, Fishguard',  books belonging to the family appear in his collection:
'Rich. Palmer Williams. Spade Arm. Welsh motto. Same plate with name added.
Hutchins Williams,. Early XIXth Cent. Arm. Welsh motto.
Charles Wye Williams Esqr. Early XIXth cent. Arm.
Richard Williams Esq./Drumcondra Castle. Early XIXth cent. Arm.'

I will add to this post as I discover more. The following link leads to the Index of Williams posts:
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.com/p/index-to-williams-posts.html

Wednesday, 18 April 2012

Notes on Shareholders of the CDSPCo

This post collates a few notes on the various early Dublin shareholders of the City of Dublin Steam Packet Company.
James Jameson. James was the eldest son of John Jameson, the Scottish owner of the Jameson Distillery in Bow Street, Dublin, which he had taken over in 1780. James took over the running of their sister distillery in Marrowbone Lane from his late brother, William Jameson.  He lived at 24 Harcourt St.and at Montrose, Stillorgan, and was one of the directors of the Bank of Ireland which would have brought him into contact with Richard Williams, notary to the bank; he was also on the board of the Dublin Chamber of Commerce in the 1830s and 1840s.
James’ sister, Janet Jameson, was married to John Woolsey (born 1772 in Louth to Rev. William Woolsey and Mary Anne Bellingham, died 1835) of Castlebellingham, who was also an early shareholder in the CDSPCo.   Richard Palmer, another early investor, was married to Frances Woolsey (Frances’ parents were also Rev. William Woolsey and Mary Anne Bellingham) of Castle Bellingham - Anne Palmer who married the co-founder of the steam company, Richard Williams,  was the sister of Richard Palmer.  The brother of Anne and Richard Palmer was George Palmer (of French St, Dublin) who was yet another of the early shareholders.

  A son of John and Janet Woolsey was John Woolsey who married a member of the Portarlington Willis family, Elizabeth Lucy Willis, who was the daughter of Rev. Henry de Laval Willis.  Henry de Laval Willis was the first cousin of Geraldine O’Moore Creighton who married Richard Williams of 17 Eden Quay, the bookkeeper for the CDSPCo. (And our maternal great-great grandparents.)  Henry de Laval Willis himself also married a member of the Woolsey family - on 16th October 1841, he married Mary Ann Woolsey, the daughter of Thomas Woolsey, who was the son of William Woolsey and Mary Anne Bellingham.

James Ferrier, Willow Park, Booterstown. Originally Scottish, the Ferrier family transferred their wholesale haberdashery business from Paisley to Dublin in 1771, locating first in Eustace Street.  In 1835 James Ferrier bought the old stamp office in South William Street, and founded the wholesale silk and haberdashery firm of Ferrier and Pollock, which remained in South William Street until the late 1970s. The site is presently occupied by the Powerscourt Townhouse shopping centre.  He was on the board of the Chamber of Commerce, and was also, in the 1830s, a director of the Bank of Ireland.

An extract from the minutes of the proceedings of the proprietors of the CDSPCo at its half-yearly meeting, held 31st October 1840:  ‘Resolved, - That this meeting cannot separate without offering to Mr Williams (ie: Charles Wye Williams) their sincere thanks for his valuable work on the combustion of coal; and that it be recommended to the Directors to request him to superintend the publication of a new edition, at the Company’s expense, with the view to its distribution among the proprietors. (Signed) James Ferrier, Chairman.  P. Howell, Secretary.’
(The above referred to Charles Wye William’s book 'The Combustion of Coal and The Prevention of Smoke etc.'

Joseph Robinson Pim, Fitzwilliam Square. 1787 - 1858. Quaker. In 1831, he married  Anna Jemima Lecky.  He was born in the Quaker heartland of Mountmellick, and later settled in Liverpool with his family, where he worked as an agent, then as an officer on a steamer.  The Pim family were cotton merchants with a Dublin address at 22 South William Street, where James Ferrier, silk merchant, had his concern.  They were the owners of Greenmount Cotton Mill in Harolds Cross.

John Oldham, Suffolk St.
From ‘Scientific London’ by Bernard Henry Becker: ‘In the memory of the late Charles Wye Williams, I find that about the year 1819 - with the intention of assisting Mr. John Oldham, the engineer at the Bank of Ireland - turned his attention to steam navigation with the object of introducing Mr.Oldham’s patent feathering paddles...’

John Oldham (1779-1840), born in Dublin, was a miniature painter and a distinguished engineer-inventor. In 1809 he developed a machine for serial numbering of bank notes, adopted by the Bank of Ireland in 1812. Oldham was appointed engineer and chief engraver to the bank. In 1817, and 1820, he patented designs for paddle steamer propulsion systems. His systems were eventually used in the first ever ocean-going iron steamer Aaron Manby.  In 1832 he designed a mechanical water supply system for the R.D.S. botanic garden. Oldham migrated to London in 1837, where he worked for the Bank of England. He died at his residence in Montagu Street, London, on 14 February 1840.
1841 Obituary of John Oldham:
John Oldham, the Engineer of the Banks of England and Ireland, was born in Dublin, where he served an apprenticeship to the business of an engraver, which he practised for some time, but subsequently quitted to become a miniature painter, wherein he acquired some reputation.
He pursued this branch of the arts for many years, but having a strong bias towards mechanical pursuits, he devoted much of his leisure time to the acquisition of that knowledge which was to prove the foundation of his future celebrity.
In the year 1812, he proposed to the Bank of Ireland his system of mechanical numbering and dating the notes, and on this being accepted, he became the chief Engraver and Engineer to that Establishment. The period of twenty-two years, during which he held this appointment, was marked by continually progressive steps of artistical and mechanical ingenuity. The various arrangements which he projected and carried out attracted great attention, and conferred considerable celebrity on the establishment with which he was connected.
The late Governor of the Bank of England, Mr. T. A. Curtis, had his attention directed to these important improvements, and under his influence the whole system of engraving and printing as pursued in the Bank of Ireland was introduced into the national establishment of this country, under the superintendence of its author, who continued in the service of the Bank until his death.
The ingenuity of Mr. Oldham was directed to other objects, especially to a system of ventilation, of which an account was given by the author during the session of 1837.
Great versatility of inventive faculty, persevering industry, and social qualities of the highest order, were the prominent features in his character, and the success which attended his exertions is one of the many gratifying instances to be found in the history of this country, of talents and industry destitute of patronage attaining to eminence in the professions to which they are devoted.

John Doherty, Stephens Green
Ephraim Carroll, Stephens Green. Ephraim Carroll, son of Ephraim Carroll, was a barrister who married, firstly, Elizabeth Doherty, the daughter of John Doherty of Aungier St, in 1789.  He was MP for Fethard, then Bannow in Co. Wexford from 1783 till 1799.  He opposed the Act of Union in 1800/1801 which did away with the Irish Parliament in Dublin.  

Brent Neville Junior, Sackville St.  In 1810, Brent Neville was a sheriff in Dublin, but this could have been his father.  Brent Neville Junior was a wine merchant of Abbey Street, and was a member of Dublin’s city council.

Bryan Molloy of Belvidere Place in the said city Esq.,
James Kelly of Pembroke Street in the said city Esq.,
John Daniel of Belview in the county of Meath Esq.,

Henry Higginbotham of Bachelors Walk in the County of Dublin Esq.,  Earlier, in 1814, he had been living at 4 East Mountjoy Square.  In 1812 he was on the board of The Royal Exchange Insurance Company, which engaged in marine insurance in Dublin.

James McCall of Bachelors Walk in the City of Dublin Esq. Of James McCall & Co, merchants, 16 Bachelors Walk;  he was on the board of The Royal Exchange Insurance Company along with, amongst others, Henry Higginbotham in 1812;  in 1820 he was also, involved with The Corporation for Improving the Port of Dublin.

Richard Cane of Dawson Street in the said City Esq.,  Was of 60 Dawson Street and Laraghbryan, Celbridge, Co. Kildare.  Richard Cane was an army agent, whose offices were at 61 Dawson Street.  Although both he and his wife, Isabella Dawson, are buried at Laraghbryan, there is a memorial plaque for them in St.Anne’s Church in Dublin.
His RDS membership records:
Richard Cane was elected a member of the Dublin Society in 1808. His proposers were General Vallancey and Doctor Smyth. He served on the botany and agriculture committee 1816-17. The Dublin street directories listed him as an army agent, Dawson Street (1806), a general agent to the yeomanry service and director of the Steam Packet Boat Company (1818), and a wide streets commissioner, director of the Bank of Ireland, and member of the Ouzel Galley Society (1834). Also in 1834 he was described as agent for Chelsea pensioners resident in Ireland. References in issues of The Freeman's Journal for 1829 show that at that time he was a director of the National Assurance Company of Ireland, and a governor of the Mendicity Institution. His father, Major Edward Cane, was a descendant of the O'Cahans of Limavady, and had an army agency at 60 Dawson Street. Richard Cane married Elizabeth Dawson of Castle Dawson, County Londonderry. He was educated at T.C.D., and was a director of the Grand Canal Company and a supporter of numerous Dublin charities. He was a director of the Bank of Ireland in alternate years 1825-9, during 1831-53, and governor of the bank 1840-2. Richard Cane was deleted from the R.D.S. membership list in 1853.’

Thomas Gibbons of Dame Street in the said City Esq.,  Was of the family of James Gibbons who were in business with Richard Williams and Hutchins Thomas Williams at 38 Dame Street.
Hutchins Thomas Williams of Dame Street in the said City Esq.,

Edward Rotheram of Sallymount in the County of Meath Esq.

Robert Roe of Crampton Quay in the City of Dublin Esq.,  In the 1820s, Robert Roe was the secretary of the Dublin Chamber of Commerce.  Robert Roe, merchant, Temple Bar and 1 Crampton Quay, and Fitzwilliam Square. A member of the distillery family, he was a director of the Bank of Ireland in alternate years 1823-7, and during 1829-36.  He was a signatory of the protestant petition for catholic emancipation in 1829 and supported liberal candidates in the Dublin city elections of 1833. Robert Roe died in September 1836.
Robert Roe was related to James Jameson of Marrowbone Lane.

John Clarke of Astons Quay in the said City Esq.,

Alexander Taylor of Mespill in the County of Dublin Esq.. Major Alexander Taylor of Mespil had responsibility for maintaining fountains in the Liberties area of Dublin, and was on the board of the Commissioners of Wide Streets.

Henry Smith of Annesbrook in the County of Meath Esq.

George Palmer of French Street in the City of Dublin Esq. This was the brother of Anne Palmer, who was married to Richard Williams.

James Lenox William Naper (the son of William Naper of Cheltenham, Gloucester)  of Loughcrew in the County of Meath Esq.,  Was English - a son, James Lenox, was born and baptised in Monks Kirby, Warwick, in 1824 to James Lenox William and a wife named Lucy. An earlier James Lenox Naper was born in London in 1822, but to a wife named Selina Skepanch who he married in 1822 in London.  James Lenox William Naper himself died in Warwick in 1868, aged about 77.  His son - who was also of Loughcrew, Meath, with a London residence at Lowndes Square - died at the Kildare Street Club in Dublin in 1901.

James-Lenox-William Naper , esq. of Loughcrew , in the county of Meath , b. 18 Feb 1791 , and inherited the estates at the decease of his father, in the Nov following, m. 03 May 1824 , Selina , second daughter of Sir Grey Skipwith , bart. of Newbold Hall , in Warwickshire , and has issue,


Abraham Lane of Ormond Quay in the City of Dublin Esq.,  Was originally from Cork, where his brother, Richard Lane (in the 1820s) had a brewery and interests in the woollen trade.  Their father, Abraham Lane Senior, established a woollen factory in Cork in the 1770s to supply clothing for the army.

Richard Manders of Mountjoy Square in the said City Esq.,  Was Lord Mayor of Dublin in 1801. Was a sheriff’s peer in Dublin in 1832. His son, Richard Manders, married Elizabeth, the daughter of Robert Roe, Fitzwilliam Square, in 1851.
Robert Manders of Mountjoy Square in the said City Esq.,  The Manders family were in the flour milling and brewery businesses.

Henry William Thompson of Stone Brook in the County of Kildare Esq.,

William Walshe of Rutland Square in the City of Dublin Esq.,

The Deeds of Agreement of the City of Dublin Steam Packet Company, dated 13th July 1824,  were witnessed and sealed in the presence of Thomas Palmer by the following:
Charles Wye Williams
Richard Williams
Henry Higinbotham
Alexander Taylor
Brent Neville Junior
Thomas Gibbons
Hutchins Thomas Williams
Richard Cane
George Palmer
Thomas Williams
William John Alexander  (His father was: Sir Robert Alexander
Born: 1769. RDS notes:
'Robert Alexander, 3rd baronet, Sackville Street, was elected a member of the Dublin Society in 1808. His proposers were Thomas Burgh and Luke White. Son and heir of the 2nd baronet (q.v.), he was born in 1769 and married, in 1796, Eliza, daughter and heiress of John Wallis (q.v.). He was collector of carriage duties for the Dublin police, an army agent, a member of the Ouzel Galley Society, and a director of the Bank of Ireland 1808-27. He was deleted from the R.D.S. membership list in 1854. According to Debrett (1877 ed.) the baronetcy was created in 1809, and the family were related to the earls of Caledon. Alexander's bank failed on 12 June 1820, leading to the sale at auction of the Belcamp estate, but the family retained property at Cruicestown, Kells.'

John Clarke
James Jameson
William Atkinson (A William Atkinson was a haberdasher of Pimlico in 1801.)
John Oldham
Abraham Lane of Cork and Dublin.
The above group also witnessed and sealed the 1825 Deeds.

In 1826,  Henry Higinbotham resigned.  The proprietors were convened, and it was agreed that James Jameson of Harcourt Street be elected as a Trustee to replace Henry Higinbotham.  Amongst the proprietors in 1826 were the following:
Paul Twigg,  James Twigg (was in the linen industry and wine industry),  Joseph Harvey,  William Lunell Guinness,  Arthur Lunell Guinness,  William Williams,  Thomas Williams,  James Ferrier,  James Jameson,  James McCall,  Robert Roe,  Benjamin Guinness,  George Palmer,  Alexander Bewley,  George Francis Carleton,  George Howell,  Robert Guinness,  Brent Neville,  Joseph Hone,  Richard Williams,  Richard Palmer,  Thomas Pim,  Thomas Higinbotham,  Charles Wye Williams,  Nathaniel Callwell,  Jonathan Pim,  Hutchins Thomas Williams,  Joseph Bewley.

Nathaniel Callwell:  Nathaniel Calwell was a stationer and state lottery office keeper operating out of number 28 College green at the start of the 19th Century. Calwell employed the builder and master carpenter Richard Knight to erect houses  plots of land at Fitzwilliam Square and they were completed in 1818. By deed dated 3rd March 1819 Calwell demised the new number 11 Fitzwilliam square to William Sharman Crawford of Warringstown, county Down for the sum of £1,250. Number 11 would act as the Dublin townhouse for this radical politician and tenant’s rights advocate until 1824.
There were two Nathaniel Callwells, father and son, so it’s unclear which one we’re dealing with here. The elder Nathaniel, who developed housing in Fitzwilliam Square, was born in Belfast to Robert Callwell in 1766 and died in Dublin in 1832; his wife was Maria, daughter of James Lecky. (Joseph Robinson Pim also married a Lecky.)
The son, also Nathaniel, married in 1830, Mary Olivia d’Olier, the daughter of Isaac d’Olier. He married, secondly, Margaret, daughter of Thomas Wilson. In 1855, he was High Sheriff of Longford and was a Director and Governor of the Bank of Ireland.  Nathaniel No. 2 lived at Toneen, Longford.
In 1818, Nathaniel Callwell recommended that Hutchins Thomas Williams of 38 Dame St be allowed to practice as a stockbroker in Dublin.

Phineas Howell (1802 - 1888), of 16 Eden Quay, worked in the Dublin office of the CDSPCo as agent and secretary, but spent some time in the 1820s in Liverpool.
He married twice, first to Jane Franceys/Frances in 1826, by whom he had three children.  She died young in 1829, and Phineas married again, this time to Fanny Franceys (possibly Jane’s sister) in Edge Hill, Walton, Liverpool in 1832.  He gave his full name as Phineas Airey Howell, widower of St.Thomas‘s, Dublin; the witnesses were two members of the Beausire family.
Phineas Howell was admitted to the Freemen of Dublin on April 3rd 1837 through service to Robert Marshal who had himself been admitted in 1801.
In 1835, Phineas Howell’s home address was 9 Fairview Avenue, Clontarf.
Phineas Howell’s daughter, Eliza Franceys Howell, of 16 Eden Quay, married, on 24th December 1845, the merchant John Charley of The Imperial Hotel, and son of Hill Charley. (Witnesses John Lefebvre and John Gray). Their son would be named Phineas Howell Charley. The Charley family were involved with linen manufacture in the Lagan Valley near Belfast, and were shareholders in the CDSPCo.
Phineas also had a daughter, Hannah Mary, born in Liverpool in 1827.  A son, also Phineas Howell, had been born in Ireland in about 1835 to Phineas and Frances;  he emigrated to Chicago in 1885  where he died in 1914.  He had married Mary E. Dunn; the 1910 US Census shows him widowed and living at Norwood Park, Cook County.  His daughter, Emma S. Howell, married Walter J. Mesler in 1916 - Walter was the son of George Mesler and Katie Frey.

Monday, 16 April 2012

The Palmer Family of French Street

Ann Palmer (1777 - 1858) married Richard Williams of Drumcondra Castle and 48 Dame Street.   Her grandfather was George Palmer, the rector of Kiltullagh near Castlemaine, Co. Kerry, who was the 2nd son of Rev. Thomas Palmer of Kenmare. (The eldest son of Rev. Thomas Palmer of Kenmare was Thomas Palmer who married Ellen McCullough - the descendants of this branch of the family later settled in Dublin, living at Dominick Street. They intermarried with the Orpen family of Kenmare.)

http://alison-stewart.blogspot.com/2011/07/rev-thomas-palmer-of-kenmare.html

The parents of Anne Palmer who married Richard Williams, were George Palmer, the governor of the Bank of Ireland, and Anne Bickarton, the only daughter and heir of Daniel Bickerton of Milestone, Castlebellingham.  (Daniel Bickerton was the son of Robert Bickerton of Chatilly, Armagh, and of Anne Bellingham.) George and Anne married in 1766.
They settled in Dublin and this branch of the Kenmare Palmers lived at French Street, modern name Mercer Street, near Stephens Green. George Palmer of French Street was buried in St. Peter’s on 25th January 1813;  Anne Palmer of French Street died and was buried on 23rd January 1830.


The will of George Palmer was made 12 Dec, 1810.  The details were: leaves his eldest son, Rev. Daniel Palmer, £200, and recites deed of settlement made 10th Feb., 1773, giving him power to charge £1,000 on the lands of Mylestown and Wootens-town, to which deed Daniel Bickerton and Thomas Bickerton, his
son, and Abigail, Thomas's wife, John Foster, Robert Sibthorp, Benjamin Kearney and Edward Tandy were parties. He releases these lands from this charge for the benefit of his son Daniel, who is entitled to a life estate therein on the death of his mother Anne, dau. of Daniel Bickerton. Leaves his second son George lands in Dublin and £300, and his 3rd son ultimate heir to Milestown, etc., and residuary legatee. Bequeaths his four daughters Margt. (wife of Robert Barnewall), Lucy, Jane, and Anne, £2,000 each. Mentions a legacy left his wife by her great aunt, Mrs. Jane Peppard. Leaves in trust to Thomas Ball and Richard Williams his interest in part of the lands of Castlebellingham, which he purchased lately from John Woolsey, to be annexed to the demesne of Miles-town. £5,769 is due him by Waterford bankers.


The children of George and Anne Palmer were as follows:

1)  Rev. Daniel Palmer of Milestone, Louth (1770 - 1834) who married Elizabeth Alleyne.  Rev. Daniel Palmer worked at Barnstable in Devon.  They had two sons, George Fortescue Palmer of Milestone (who matriculated from Oxford in 1819, aged 18)  and John Alleyne Palmer.  George Fortescue Palmer was a baptist minister who died 7th July 1866 at Harcombe Bottom, Devon (but was formerly of Lyme Regis); his will was proved by the oath of Eliza Lane, wife of William Lane, of Harcombe Bottom.

2) George Palmer Junior (born 1771), married Mary Franks, the daughter of Matthew Franks of Dublin. George was an early shareholder - in 1823 - in the Williams’ business, the City of Dublin Steam Packet Company.   George Palmer Junior was a secretary in 1815 to the Commissioner for Reducing the National Debt.
      The Treble Almanack of 1815 mentions George Palmer Junior as a corn factor of Pim Street.  Elsewhere, the Almanack mentions that George and Richard Palmer of 4 French Street were merchants.  (Perhaps one address was the residence, and one was the business.)

3)  Richard Palmer (born 1778) married Frances or Fanny Woolsey, the daughter Rev. William Woolsey and Ann Bellingham. The bride and groom were cousins. Richard Palmer invested in the fledgling CDSPCo, as did another member of the Woolsey family, John Woolsey.  Richard Palmer, in 1815, was living at 7 French Street.

The Woolsey family of Castlebellingham, Louth:  John Woolsey married Lucy Palmer, the daughter of Rev. George Palmer, who was the son of Rev. Thomas Palmer of Kenmare.  (Rev. George Palmer was the rector of Killorglin, Knockane, Kiltallough, Kilgarrinlander etc. from 1735;  prior to this he had been Vicar Choral in Armagh Cathedral....he also did a stint in Kilsaran Parish which is the closest one to Castlebellingham.)
The will of John Woolsey of Priorland, dated 1752, the son of Rev.William Woolsey (there were two of these, grandfather and grandson.) Mentions his wife Lucy, the daughter of Rev. George Palmer, and his sister-in-law, Mary Palmer.  Leaves Priorland to his son, Rev. William Woolsey, with remainder to his brother Rev. Thomas Woolsey of Forkhill.  One of the trustees appointed was James Fortescue.

The son of John Woolsey and Lucy Palmer, Rev. William Woolsey, was married to Mary Anne Bellingham.  Rev. William Woolsey was the rector of Kilsaran Parish, Castlebellingham, and lived at Priorsland. His daughter was Frances/Fanny Woolsey who married her cousin Richard Palmer.
Another child of Rev. William Woolsey and Mary Anne Bellingham was Captain John Woolsey who married Janet Jameson, the daughter of John Jameson, a Scottish lawyer who founded Jameson’s Distillery in Bow St, Dublin in 1780. (Her brother, James Jameson, was an early proprietor of the CDSPCo and was also a director of the Bank of Ireland;  he ran the Marrowbone Lane Whiskey distillery, while his father, John Jameson, ran the one in Bow Street.)  A son of John and Janet Woolsey was John Woolsey who married a member of the Portarlington Willis family, Elizabeth Lucy Willis, who was the daughter of Rev. Henry de Laval Willis.

4)  Henry Palmer, who was later killed in India.

5)  Margaret Jane Palmer (born 1769) married Sir Robert Barnewell, Bart of Greenanstown, Meath.  Margaret Jane Palmer was Robert’s second wife, the first having been Catherine Rose Aylmer who died in 1790.  He was of the ancient family of Barnewall who had settled in Meath in the 12th century.
Sir Robert Barnewall, 8th Baronet (1757–1836) (claimed title 1821)
Margaret Jane Barnewall died 18th August 1844 and is buried in the parish church in Castlebellingham.
(From The Limerick Chronicle:  'At Castlebellingham, Lady Barnwell, relict of the late Sir Robert Barnwell, Bart., and daughter of the late George Palmer of French-street, Dublin, Esq.')

Obituary of Sir Robert from ‘The Gentlemans’Magazine, Vol. 161’  “Lately, aged 80, Sir Robert Barnwall, Bart. (1622) of Crickstown Castle and Greenanstown, Co.Meath. This very ancient baronetcy remained dormant from the decease of Sir George the fifth baronet, about the middle of the last century, until the late possessor of the dignity established his right to it in Nov. 1821.   Sir Robert was fourth in descent from Michael Barnewall, fourth son of the first baronet.  He was born October 6, 1757, the eldest son of Bartholomew Barnewall esq., of Ballyhost, Co. Westmeath, and Boyne-lodge and Greenanstown, Co. Meath, by Mary, second daughter of Isaac Brand Colt, esq., of Brightlingsea-hall, in Essex.    He was married twice. His first wife was Catherine Rose, eldest daughter of Charles Aylmer esq., of Painston, co. Kildare, by whom he had an only son, now Sir Aylmer John Barnewall, an officer on the half-pay of the army.  Sir Robert married secondly, Margaret-Jane, eldest daughter of George Palmer,esq., of Dublin, and of Milestown, co. Louth, onoe of the original directors, and subsequently Governor, of the Bank of Ireland. By this lady, he has left an only surviving daughter, Mary-Anne.”

6)  Lucy Palmer (born 1772) married Rev. John Mee of Chantilly Glebe, Tynan, Co. Armagh on 14th March 1798.  Lucy was of St.Peter’s parish, Dublin.  John Mee was educated at Trinity, Dublin, and served as curate of Middletown Church in Co. Armagh for 26 years, dying there, aged 57, on 9th November 1828
    On Jan.4th 1828, the daughter of Rev.John Mee of Shantilly Glebe, Ann Elizabeth Mee, married Rev.R.C.Loftie, the son of William Loftie, of Tandragee, Armagh.

7)  Jane Palmer  (1773 - 1851) married Thomas Ball, Master in Chancery, of High Park, Drumcondra, Co. Dublin.

8)  Anne Palmer, the youngest, married Richard Williams of Drumcondra Castle and Dame St.

In 1818, a Mr. Palmer of French Street was a member of the firm ‘Gibbons and Palmer’;  the Gibbons in question may well be a member of the Gibbons family who were in finance with the Williams family in 48 Dame Street.  I can find no further reference to the business ‘Gibbons and Palmer’ after 1818.  Another member of the Palmer family who invested in the CDSPCo was Thomas Palmer, but I’m unsure whether he is one of the Kenmare Palmers.

The Lysaght Family of Mountnorth

Catherine Deane of Crumlin married John Lysaght, 1st Baron Lisle of Mountnorth, Co. Cork.   They married in St.Anne’s, Dublin on 16th December 1725. Their daughter, Mary Lysaght, married Kingsmill Pennefather - these were our many times great grandparents on our mother’s side. This post explores Mary Lysaght’s relations a little.

http://alison-stewart.blogspot.com/2011/10/lord-lisle-of-mountnorth-and-his-wife.html

http://alison-stewart.blogspot.com/2011/10/more-on-lysaght-family-of-mountnorth.html

The principle seats of the Lysaght family were Mountnorth, Co. Cork, Lisle or Little Island near Cork Harbour, Crumlin near Dublin, and Dawson St, Dublin.  The 1st Baron Lisle also had a home named Fort Lisle or the Vauxhall Gardens in Blackrock, Co. Dublin.
Their family motto was ‘Bella! Horrida Bella!’ which translates dramatically as ‘Wars! Horrible Wars!’.

John Lysaght was the son of Nicholas Lysaght of Brickfield, Kilmallock, Limerick, and of Grace Holmes, the daughter of Colonel Thomas Holmes of Kilmallock, Limerick.    Colonel Thomas Holmes had been born circa 1638 and had married Anne Gibbons, the daughter of John Gibbons.  Colonel Thomas Holmes was the grandson of Sir John Holmes, the governor of the Isle of Wight.
The sister of Nicholas Lysaght of Brickfield, according to his will of 1724 - 1726, was a Magdalen Cuningham, possibly the wife of Alexander Cuningham.

A close relation of this same Lysaght family was John Lysaght of Brickhill, Cratloe, Co. Clare, who married Jane Eyre Dalton, the daughter of Edward Dalton of Deerpark, Co. Clare.  Jane Eyre Dalton was the cousin of Lord Eyre of Eyre Park, Co. Galway.  The son of John Lysaght and Jane Eyre Dalton of Brickhill, Co. Clare, was the barrister and poet, Edward/Ned Lysaght who had been born on 21st December 1763.  Edward Lysaght was educated by Rev. Patrick Hare of Cashel, before entering Trinity, Dublin, in 1779.  Four years later his father, John Lysaght, died and was buried in the vault of his kinsman, Lord Lisle, at Ballyclough, Mallow.
Edward entered the Middle Temple in London in 1784, receiving his degree from St. Edmond Hall, Oxford.  He was called to the English bar in  1798, and to the Irish bar the following term.
Edward Lysaght married the daughter of a London bankrupt, Mr. Solomon Salmon, and subsequently found himself saddled with his father-in-law's debts.
Edward Lysaght practised law - badly - in Dublin and took to verse as a livelihood.  He was convivial and popular, but always short of cash.  An MP for Mallow, he was created magistrate for Dublin in 1810,  but died shortly afterwards, leaving a widow and three daughters.
One of his daughters, Jane Eyre Lysaght, married Rev. H. Griffin, Rector of Clonfeacle, Co. Tyrone. On 12th November 1839, in Moy, Co.Tyrone, Elizabeth Hannah (1763 - 1839), wife of the barrister Edward Lysaght, died aged 76.  Jane Eyre Griffin (1794 - 1848), wife of Rev. H. Griffin of Clonfeacle, died on 21st March 1848 at The Glebe, aged 54.
The daughter of Rev. H. Griffin and Jane Eyre Lysaght married Walter Hore of Benburb, Co. Tyrone; a son was named as Edward Lysaght Griffin.
Edward/Ned Lysaght's publication of 1810,  'Poems', mentions several Lysaghts amongst the subscribers, namely Patrick Lysaght of Annfield, Co. Clare,  George Lysaght Esq.,  Miss M. Lysaght, and Patrick Lysaght of Limerick.

Edward/Ned Lysaght's father, John Lysaght of Brickhill, was the brother of Andrew Lysaght of Summerville, Kilfenora, Co. Clare, who married Mary Finucane, and of Margaret Lysaght who married George Ryan of Ballymackeogh and Limerick in 1767.
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2013/05/the-ryan-family-of-ballymackeogh.html
John of Brickill, Andrew of Summerville and Margaret Ryan were the children of Charles Lysaght of Ballybreen, Co. Clare.
Andrew Lysaght of Summerville and his wife, Mary Finucane, had a daughter, Jane who married George Hogan Stacpoole of Crag-brien.
John Lysaght of Summerville, Kilcornan, died in August 1833.
In May 1840, at Kilmurry, Limerick, Major H. Bevan MA, author of 'Thirty Years in India', married Biddy Lysaght, the youngest daughter of the late Walter Lysaght of Summerville.  Walter was noted as the son of James Lysaght of Kilcornan.


The children of Nicholas Lysaght and Grace Holmes of  Brickfield, Kilmallock, Co. Limerick, were:

1) John Lysaght, 1st Lord Lisle, circa 1702 - 1781, who married Catherine Deane in St. Anne’s, Dublin on 16th December 1725.

2) Nicholas Lysaght, who was to get Mountnorth for eleven years following his marriage.  The following information is a collection of details about descendants of a Nicholas Lysaght of Mallow, and might not be direct descendants of Nicholas Lysaght, son of Nicholas Lysaght and Grace Holmes.
A Nicholas Lysaght was a member of the Duhallow Hunt in 1801 and gave his residence as Mountnorth, although this might be too late to be the son of Nicholas Lysaght and Grace Holmes. His Trinity records show he'd been educated privately by a Mr. Pierce, and entered TCD on November 9th 1759.
 In July 1842, at Broadwater, Sussex, John Lysaght, son of Nicholas Lysaght of Mallow, married Caroline-Harriet Beatson, the daughter of Major-General Alexander Beatson of Henley, Sussex, former governor of St. Helena.  Four years later, on 20th August 1846 at Aberdour, another daughter of Alexander Beatson, Adelaide Janetta Beatson, married another member of the same Lysaght family, James Lysaght of Carrigmore, Cork, who was the son of William Lysaght and Catherine Royse, and grandson of William Lysaght, a Co. Clare relation of John, 1st Lord Lisle, who was reared and educated by him at Mountnorth.

The John Lysaght, son of Nicholas Lysaght of Mallow, who married Caroline Harriet Beatson in 1842, might be the barrister John Nicholas Lysaght,  the eldest son of a Nicholas Lysaght of Mallow, who was sued in March 1841 for breach of promise by Miss Frances Elizabeth Farmar. Both John Nicholas Lysaght and Frances Elizabeth Farmar were aged 22 at the time. Frances Elizabeth Farmar was a milliner of Mallow and Youghal;  her brother was George Farmar, a cabinetmaker and proprietor of the baths at Youghal.  Their parents were dead. Although John Nicholas Lysaght had begged her to marry him, he dithered, knowing that his inherited estates were encumbered and that his widowed mother was hoping for a large dowry upon his marriage, something the Farmar family, whose parents were dead, couldn't provide.  Due to his debts, the Lysaght estate was liable to be sold under a decree in chancery of Hill v. Lysaght.   John Nicholas Lysaght strung Miss Farmar along for a number of years, during which her health declined, until eventually she and her brother lost patience and sued him.
Frances Elizabeth Farmer's cousin was the Mallow solicitor, Edward Christopher Lysaght Farmer, who was the son of Anthony Farmer and Mary Lysaght.  Anthony Farmer and Mary Lysaght had married in 1808 but both were dead by the time of the 1821 census which showed their two orphaned children, 8-year-old Edward Christopher Lysaght Farmer and Mary Farmer, living in Mallow with a widowed Mary Lysaght, immediately next door to 7-year-old John Nicholas Lysaght.  In the 1841 breach of promise court hearing, Edward Christopher Lysaght Farmer acted on behalf of John Nicholas Lysaght.

3)  Arthur Lysaght, born circa 1710, who married Charity Wrixon in 1736, Charity being the daughter of Nicholas Wrixon and Jane Bastable of Ballygiblin, Co. Cork.
According to his father's will, he was to get the ploughland of Clareen near Mountnorth for eleven years following his marriage.
Arthur and Charity had a son, Major Arthur Lysaght (born in Cork in 1741, and died at Fort St. George, Madras, on January 1783) of the East India Company, who married, on 15th October 1776,  Martha Pybus, the daughter of John Pybus of the Madras council.  Following the death of her first husband, Martha married John Briggs. The son of Arthur Lysaght and Martha Pybus, Arthur Lysaght of the Royal Navy, lived from 1783 till 1859. He entered the Navy in 1795, and served as a midshipman under Vice-Admiral Rainer.  He was made a lieutenant on the La Chiffone frigate, and was promoted to commander on January 22nd 1806;  he commanded the Jamaica 24 and became rear admiral of The White in 1841.   He married Caroline Cummings and settled in her hometown of Bath.  The other son of Arthur Lysaght and Martha Pybus was John Lysaght (1780-1781).
Arthur Lysaght and Charity Wrixon also had Governor Nicholas Lysaght of  Lisnabrin House, Curryglass, Co. Cork, who was High Sheriff for Co. Cork in 1768, and who died unmarried on 26th February 1782.
Arthur Lysaght and Charity Wrixon also had John Lysaght, Thomas Lysaght of the 24th Regiment, and a daughter, Jane Lysaght, who married late in life:
 From 'The Gentleman's Magazine' of October 1813:  'At Bath, Jane, widow of the Honorable Frederick Vane of Sellaby, co. Durham, second son of Henry, 1st Earl of Darlington.  She was the eldest daughter of Arthur Lysaght and niece of John Lysaght, 1st Baron Lisle.  She was married to Mr. Vane in August 1796.'
(Also of interest here is the will of Ann Lysaght who died in Weston, Bath, Somerset, on 19th November 1812.  She had been born Ann Wrixon, the daughter of Henry Wrixon of Glinhill, Cork, and was the sister of Mary Wrixon who had married Bartholomew Coote Purdon or Purdon Coote.  Mary Purdon Coote was named in the widowed Ann Lysaght's will of 1812 as her sister, her niece being Anna Maria Coote Purdon.  Both Ann Lysaght and Mary Coote Purdon were the executrixes of their father henry Wrixon's will.   Ann Lysaght also named the nephews of her deceased father (but not of her mother) as John Nicholas Wrixon of Cork city and John Michael Wrixon of Ballygiblin, Cork.  It seems that Ann Wrixon was a daughter of a second marriage of Henry Wrixon;  Ann's will makes no mention of her late husband, so I've no idea as yet which Lysaght she married, but the Wrixons and Purdon/Coote families were of Ballyclough, Co. Cork, as were the Lysaght family, so Ann's late husband was probably a member of the Mountnorth Lysaghts.)
4) Ann Lysaght who married her first cousin Henry Holmes. Henry Holmes (1703 - 1762) was the son of Colonel Henry Holmes of Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, and of Mary Holmes, the illegitimate daughter of Sir Robert Holmes, the Governor of the Isle of Wight.  Sir Robert Holmes was the brother of Thomas Holmes of Kilmallock, Co. Limerick.  Henry Holmes and Ann Lysaght died without issue.

5) Mary Lysaght who married Beverly Ussher in St. Peter's, Dublin, on 26th March 1733.  Beverly Ussher was the son of Beverly Ussher and his second wife, Grace Osborne;  the family had come from Ballyfin, Cork, to Kilmeadon, Waterford, in 1668, and settled there.  The younger Beverly Ussher made his will in Kilmeadon in 1755, and named John Lysaght, 1st Baron Lisle, as one of his trustees.  Beverly Ussher and Mary Lysaght left three daughters - Mary Ussher who married John Congreve, Elizabeth Ussher who married Bolton Lee, and Ann who had been born in 1737 and who married Simon Newport.

John Lysaght, 1st Baron Lisle of Mountnorth, son of Nicholas Lysaght and Grace Holmes, died in 1781.  He had five children with Catherine Deane of Crumlin, Dublin - he also had children with his second wife,  Elizabeth Moore, the daughter of Edward Moore:

1)  John Lysaght, 2nd Lord Lisle, who married Mary Anne/Marianne Connor, the daughter of Daniel Connor of Ballybricken, in 1778.
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2013/02/the-connoroconnor-family-of.html
A deed of 1821 766-586-520121) recorded an earlier lease, originally carried out between Nicholas Lysaght, who was the father of the 1st Baron Lisle, by which he leased land in Duhallow to John Upton of Ashgrove, Limerick, and to James D'arcy of Knockaderry.  This was being renewed in 1821 by the 2nd Baron Lisle, the property in question being this time leased to Thomas d'Arcy Evans of Bushy Island, Limerick, and to James d'Arcy Evans of Knockaderry/Knockadervy. The witnesses were Michael Edward Mahony of Cove/Cobh, and William Lapp, who had power of attorney on behalf of John Lysaght, 2nd Lord Lisle.

2) Joseph Lysaght, born circa 1739/1741.  Joseph was admitted to Trinity, Dublin, on January 25th 1752 or 1753. Gained an L.L.D. in Vern. 1776;  called to the Irish bar in 1761.
 He was elected MP for Mallow on July 12th 1768, was MP for Charleville 1768 - 1776 and MP for Castlemartyr 1776 - 1783.   In 1795 he married Henrietta St. Leger, daughter of Lord Doneraile. He died in Buxton-Wells, England, in 1799, where he had gone in poor health to take the waters, accompanied by his wife and by her sister, the Hon. Charlotte Theodosia St.Leger, aka. Lady Riversdale.   An alternate source gives the date of death as 16th January 1801.  His nephew, and our immediate paternal ancestor, Rev. John Pennefather of Newport,Tipperary, the son of Joseph's sister Mary Lysaght and Kingsmill Pennefather, was one of the executors of his will.
Joseph's widow, the Hon. Harriet or Henrietta Lysaght, daughter of Lord Viscount Doneraile, died in May 1822. ('Oxford Journal', 18th May 1822.)

3)  James Lysaght, died unmarried. Also attended Trinity - got L.L.D. in Vern. 1776, called to the Irish bar in 1765.

4) Margaret Lysaght who married William Hodder of Hodderfield, Co. Cork, in March 1775.

5) Mary Lysaght who married Kingsmill Pennefather - our immediate maternal ancestors.

John Lysaght, 1st Baron Lisle, married his second wife,  Elizabeth Moore, the daughter of Edward Moore, in 1746 and had three further children:

6)  Edward Moore Lysaght, who died at his father's residence in Dawson Street, Dublin, in 1772, following a lingering illness.

7)  Elizabeth Lysaght who died unmarried on 29th June 1787, at her father's residence, Fort Lisle in modern-day Blackrock Park, Co. Dublin.

8)  Grace Lysaght who married, on July 25th 1783, John Travers.  There were shenanigans...From 'The Gentleman's and London Magazine,  1741 -1794':   ' Same day, was tried in the Court of Exchequer, before the Lord Chief Baron, an action brought by John Travers, Esq., against Dennis McCarthy, for criminal conversation with the Hon. Grace Travers (formerly Lysaght), the wife of the plaintiff.  A fiat was some time ago granted by the learned judge who tried this action, whereon McCarthy was taken into custody.  The damages laid in the declaration were 5000 l. It appeared that the defendant was postillion to the plaintiff, and had been found in bed with the plaintiff's wife,  and frequent acts of criminal intercourse were proved.  The learned judge felt the offence to be of the most heinous and aggravated nature, as did the jury, who gave a verdict for 5000 l. , the whole of the damages in the declaration,  without quitting the box.'   (This took place in 1791.)

John Lysaght, 2nd Baron Lisle (1729 - 1798) married in 1778 Marianne Connor, the daughter of George Connor of Ballybricken, Co. Cork. (I think our family would have died out without the prolific Connor family of Ballybricken;  they seem to have provided an endless supply of wives and husbands for the ancestors...)

From 'Dublin Alumni':  'John Lysaght, SC (Dr. Ford) Oct 24 1745, aged 16; son of John, Armiger;  born Dublin. BA Vern, 1750. (2nd Baron Lisle).'

Also, brother to the above: 'Joseph Lysaght, Privately educated. LLD Vern 1776 (of the Inner Temple); 2nd son of John of Mount North, Cork;  Irish bar 1761; MP Youghal 1768;  MP Cashel 1798.'


John Lysaght, 2nd Baron Lisle,  was the MP for Castlemartyr, Cork, and the Sheriff of Co. Cork.  Joshua Reynolds painted a charming Georgian portrait of him. He died in Bristol on January 9th 1798.

The children of John Lysaght and Marianne Connor were:
  • John Lysaght, 3rd Baron Lisle.
  • George Lysaght, 4th Baron Lisle, born 1783 in Bristol, married Elizabeth Knight on 11th August 1810, then married Elizabeth Ann Foulkes on 14th October 1816.
  • Elizabeth Lysaght, born 1779 in Kildare St, Dublin, married James Hall in September 1800, and died in May 1813.
  • Catherine Lysaght who married Thomas Delany Hall, brother of James Hall, in 1803.
John Lysaght, 3rd Baron Lisle, and his brother, George Lysaght, 4th Baron Lisle:
John Lysaght 3rd Baron was born to John Lysaght and Marianne Connor on 4th December 1780, and married Sarah Gibbs of Inverness in 1809. They had no children.  The ‘Annual Register, 1834’ recorded his premature death:   “By a fall when hunting in the New Forest, by which he dislocated his neck, aged 53, the right honourable John Lysaght, 3rd Baron Lisle of Mountnorth, county Cork.”

John was succeeded, therefore by his younger brother, George Lysaght, 4th Baron Lisle (1783 - 7th July 1868),  who had married, firstly, on October 11th 1819, Elizabeth Knight, who died on 12th April 1815 - George and Elizabeth had a son, John Arthur Lysaght (the 5th Baron), and a daughter, Elizabeth Lysaght.  George Lysaght married secondly, on Octber 14th 1819, Elizabeth Annie Foulkes, the daughter of John Davy Foulkes of Devon;  Elizabeth Anne died on November 1st 1825, having produced 7 children with George, one of whom was Catherine Charlotte Lysaght.  George finally married Elizabeth Church of Bloomsbury, Middlesex on August 16th 1836.    She was the daughter of John and Ann Church of Bedford Place.

In 1851, George Lysaght and his third wife, Elizabeth Church, were living in Kenton, Devon - the census records his name merely as 'Lisle' and his profession as 'Peer'.    Their adult children were John Arthur, Samuel Knight Lysaght, and Elizabeth Mary Ann Lysaght, all living at home. Also present on the night of the census were two unmarried adult nieces - Eliza Combe, aged 25, and her sister, Charlotte Combe, aged 19.  George Lysaght, 4th Baron Lisle, had a daughter, Catherine Charlotte Lysaght, who married the clergyman and schoolmaster, Rev. John Eyre Yonge.  Catherine Charlotte Yonge died on 22nd December 1905 at Shettisham Rectory in Suffolk, and her will was administered by three of her sons, Rev. George Yonge, rev. Vernon George Yonge, and the solicitor, John Harry Yonge.   A further son was Henry Lysaght of the 86th Foot who died at Poona on November 1st 1851, aged 26.

The 5th Baron Lisle, John Arthur Lysaght, was born in Pilton, Devon, to George Lysaght and Elizabeth Knight, on 12th October 1811, and married twice, the first time to Henrietta Ann Church of Bloomsbury who I believe was the sister of George Lysaght’s (4th Baron) third wife.    Henriette Church had been born in 1816 to John and Ann Church of Bedford Place, Bloomsbury, and married John Arthur Lysaght on 6th March 1837.  She would die in 1860.
In 1841, John Arthur Lysaght and Henrietta Ann were living in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, with the first three of their children.
1) John George Lysaght, 1837 - 1837, born and died at Kenton House.
2) John Arthur Lysaght, 1838 - 1872.
3) George William James Lysaght (1840 - 1919), the 6th Baron Lisle.
4) Frederick Lysaght, born 1841.
5) Henrietta-Elizabeth Lysaght, 1845 - 1891.
6) Henry Lysaght, 1847 - 1915.
7) Elizabeth Octavia Lysaght, 1850 - 1870.
8) Philippa Charlotte Lysaght, 1853 - 1855.
9) Richard Lysaght, 1854 - 1855.
10) Mary-Anne Clara Lysaght, 1856 - 1858.

The 5th Baron Lisle, John Arthur Lysaght, died at Castle Magner, Kanturk, Co. Cork, on 18th April 1898.

The son of John Arthur Lysaght and Henrietta Ann Church, George William James Lysaght  (1840 - 1919)    became the 6th Baron Lisle.  He was in the military and served in several units - the Devon Mil. Art.,  the Jackson Forest Rangers, the Waitako Militia.  George was married to Amy Emily Langford of Ventnor and St.Heliers, Jersey.

The 7th Baron Lisle was named John Nicholas Horace Lysaght (the son of Horace George Lysaght who died in 1918) who had been born in 1903 and succeeded to the title in 1919.  He died in 1997 aged 93.
He married twice, to Vivienne Brew who died in 1948, then to Marie Helen Rugold following his 1930 divorce from Vivienne.

William Lysaght of Mount North, Cork:
John Lysaght, 1st Baron Lisle of Mountnorth, took in one of his Clare relations, the Catholic William Lysaght, and educated him at Mountnorth.  The Clare Lysaghts were closely related to the Cork family but there are too many variations of the genealogical link for me to decipher the exact relationship accurately.  William was the son of Patrick Lysaght and Barbara Arthur;  Patrick, who died young, was the son of William Lysaght of Feakle, who was the son and heir of an earlier Patrick.  Land in Feakle, Tullagh, Bunratty and Inchiquin in Co. Clare were granted to this family in November 1678.
Following his father's early death, William was taken in by his elderly grandfather,William of Feakle, whose second wife, Ann Reddan, treated the orphaned boy so poorly that an appeal was made to Lord Lisle of Mountnorth to take the child in.  (Ann Reddan, according to Lysaght family lore, engaged the services of an Algerian pirate to abduct William and his unnamed sister, in order to get her hands on her husband's money. Alternatively, William's father's property may have been sold to pay off family debts...)

William Lysaght (1723 - 1798) of Clare, therefore, moved south to Cork, getting on well with both of Lord Lisle's wives, firstly Catherine Deane who died on June 17th 1743, then with Elizabeth Moore. Following the death of Catherine Lysaght, née Deane, in 1743, Lord Lisle went with his family to Bath for a number of years, and left the young William Lysaght in charge of Mountnorth in his absence.   Lord Lisle also spent much time in Dublin.
 In 1749, William Lysaght acquired 348 acres of land at Clogheen near Doneraile from Lady Midleton;  he also built a 'pretty little thatched cottage' for himself.   In 1750 he married the Protestant Elizabeth Knight, the daughter of James Knight of Ballynoe, near Charleville, who was a cousin of Lord Lisle  - under the marriage settlement, William Lysaght got £350, Elizabeth Knight's grandmother Gubbins gave her £200;  her Uncle Blakeney Gubbins gave her £50.  (James Knight's wife was the daughter of Joseph Gubbins and Catherine Blakeney.)  Another uncle was Henry Knight. Elizabeth Knight's brother was Sir Christopher Knight.
William Lysaght had relations in Portugal, and would later send two of his own children there.

The children of William Lysaght and Elizabeth Knight, who were reared Protestant, were:
1) William Lysaght (1754 - 1801)  who married Catherine Royse, the daughter of Thomas Royse of Ballinvirig, Limerick, at Nantenant, Limerick, in 1791.   William Lysaght Jr. was JP for Cork and Counsellor at law.   Catherine Royse's siblings were Robert Royse and Vere Royse who had learning difficulties and was described as an idiot.
William Lysaght JP, who lived at Fortwilliam and at Mount North, died on 9th December 1801, when out hunting for Whiteboys - he accidentally stepped on a farmyard pig, causing his horse to rear up and throw him, and died a few days later.

Catherine Lysaght, née Royse, proved the will of her brother, Vere Royse, when he died in Mallow, Co. Cork, on 27th September 1839.  Her son, James Lysaght of Malahide and Carrigmore, was the second executor. James Lysaght of Malahide and Carrigmore, would later be the executor of his mother Catherine's will when she died in Mallow on 4th December 1839.
Earlier, at Lucyville, The Liberties, Cork City,  John Lysaght, the son of William Lysaght and Catherine Royse, died in April 1828, and his will was granted to his brothers, William Lysaght and James Lysaght of Malahide.

One of the sons of Catherine Royse and William Lysaght was James Lysaght, noted as being of Malahide, but who also bought Carrigmore near Dunmanway, Co. Cork, which had previously been known as Connerville, the seat of the Conners.
James Lysaght made a fortune in the legal profession, and was working in Clare in 1839, the year of his mother's death - Catherine Royse Lysaght, widow of William Lysaght, died at Mallow6 Upper Bag in 1839.
A son, Thomas Lysaght, was living with her in Mallow prior to her death.  A widowed surgeon Thomas Lysaght MD of 6 Upper Baggot Street, married in St. Peter's on 15th March 1849, Matilda Elizabeth Benison of Talbot Street, the daughter of Lieutenant Joseph Benison.
James Lysaght of Mallow, attorney-at-law, married twice, first to his cousin, the eldest daughter of Robert Royse of Ballydonohue, Co. Limerick, ('Dublin Weekly Register', 16th March 1822).  The wedding took place at the bride's family home at Ballydonohue.  (Robert Royse was his maternal uncle.)
James Lysaght and his first wife, Miss Royse, had the Rev. Edward Lysaght who later married Mary Conner, daughter of Daniel Conner of Manch.
James Lysaght of Mallow, Malahide and Carrigmore, married secondly in 1847 at Aberdour, Edinburgh, to Adelaide Janetta Douglas, the widowed daughter of the ex-Governor of St.Helena, Major-General Beatson.
Another son of James Lysaght of Carrigmore was William Lysaght, JP of Cork, who married Eliza Jane Connor, the daughter of Daniel Conner of Manch, and who had William Conner Lysaght on 8th March 1861 while living at Laurel Hill Avenue, Limerick, and then Edward Longfield Lysaght on 24th December 1862; son William Conner Lysaght, assistant medical officer with the Royal Infirmiary, died at 13 Frederick Place, Clifton, Bristol, on 24th July 1887, and who was survived by his widow, Mary Lysaght of 7 Vyvyan Terrace, Bristol.

Rev. Edward Lysaght, the son of James Lysaght and Miss Royce,  married Mary Conner of Manch, in Kinneigh Church, Co. Cork, on 17th June 1852 - he was noted as the rector of Castlemacadam, Co. Wicklow.   Rev. Edward Lysaght and Mary Conner had a son in Malahide, Dublin, in May 1853.
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2013/02/the-connoroconnor-family-of.html

The son of Catherine Royse and William Lysaght, William Lysaght (1800 - 1840),  married Frances Atkins of Cork, on 20th October 1819, the daughter of William Atkins;  William was later known as William Lysaght of Hazelwood and Fort William.
His son, John Lysaght (1832 - 1895) moved to England with his widowed mother, and founded the ironworks of John Lysaght Ltd in Bristol.  He was joined in the business by two nephews, Sidney Royse Lysaght (1856 - 1941) and William Royse Lysaght (1859 - 1945).  In October 1858, John Lysaght, son of William of Hazelwood, married Ellen Moss, the eldest daughter of Lieutenant Sidney Moss R.N.
Sidney Royce Lysaght and William Royce Lysaght were the sons of Thomas Royse Lysaght and of Emily Sophia Lysaght, who had moved to live in England by the 1850s.
Thomas Royse Lysaght had been born on 21st February 1828 in Mallow to William Lysaght and Frances Atkins.  They had other children - Frances E. Lysaght, Herbert Royse Lysaght and Grace Ellen Lysaght.

The births/baptisms of some of the children of William Lysaght and Frances Atkins were noted on the LDS site:

Maria Lysaght, born in Mallow, Cork, in September 1821.
Elizabeth Lysaght born in Mallow in November 1824.
Catherine Anne Lysaght, born in Mallow in February 1823.
William Lysaght, born Mallow on 1st May 1826, although his date of birth was given as 1825 in 'Walford's County Families'...Willliam married, firstly, Frances Murphy, daughter of William Murphy MD of Cork, and, secondly, in 1870, Charity Haines, daughter of Thomas Haines of Lakeville, Cork, and had a son, William Lysaght, in 1872.
Thomas Royse Lysaght born Mallow on 21st February 1828.
Sarah Grace, the youngest daughter of William Lysaght of Hazelwood, married, Christopher Crofts, the eldest son of Christopher Crofts of Ballyhoura. The wedding took place on 14th March 1861 in Buttevant.
.
A later William Lysaght of Hazelwood, Mallow, died in 2nd August 1916, and his will was granted to William and George Lysaght.  
A William Lysaght, builder of Mallow, died on 2nd January 1881;  he was survived by his widow Margaret Lysaght.

2) Henry Lysaght of Elmvale  (son of William Lysaght and Elizabeth Knight) who married Jane Norcott in Buttevant Church on 28th November 1799. A member of the Duhallow Hunt in the 1800s, he inherited Clogheen from his father.  The marriage settlement was commemorated with a deed (523-437-351201), dated 27th November 1799 - Henry Lysaght was living at Elmville, Cork, and Jane Norcott was living at Springfield, Cork;  also mentioned were Hugh Norcott of Springfield and William Norcott, a barrister of Dublin.  Earlier (503-148-321930) on 14th April 1796,  William Lysaght transferred circa 38 acres of land in the Clogheen/Fermoy area of Cork to his youngest son, Henry Lysaght, and this was witnessed by Edward Lysaght of Dublin and William Norcott of Cork.    Jane Norcott was the daughter of James Norcott of Springfield and of Jane Roberts of Britfieldstown near Buttevant, Co. Cork. Jane was baptised, along with her twin brother, Hugh Norcott, in Buttevant Parish Church on 10th November 1775.

Children of Henry Lysaght of Elmvale:

The eldest son of Henry Lysaght of Elmvale was William H. Lysaght of Grove Cottage.

The second son of Henry of Elmvale was Joseph Lysaght.

On 23rd September 1842 at sea aboard 'The Agricola',  the death occurred of Hugh Norcott Lysaght, the youngest son of the late Henry Lysaght.
Henry Lysaght was born to Henry Lysaght and Jane Norcott of Elmville near Buttevant and was baptised there on 2nd October 1804.  He inherited Clogheen, sold it and bought Bellwood in Tipperary, but spent the later years of his life in Dublin.   His wife, who he married in July 1838, was Maria Hooper, the daughter of Robert Hooper of Tipperary. She died in 1859.
From The Cork Examiner of 6th November 1863:  'In Blessington Street, Henry Lysaght, 3rd son of the late Henry Lysaght Esq., of Elmvale, Nov. 4, at his residence 5 Royal Canal Terrace.'
Also, from the Dublin Evening Mail - on 4th November 1863, Henry Lysaght Esq., formerly of Bellwood, Templemore, the 3rd son of the late Henry Lysaght of Elmvale, died at 61 Blessington Street.  Henry of Bellwood had a son at Bellwood, Tipperary, in April 1844.
In September 1858, Maria Lysaght, the daughter of Henry Lysaght of Bellwood married Thomas Eyre Powell, the son of the late John Powell.  When Henry Lysaght of Bellwood died at 66 Blessington Street on 4th November 1863, his will was granted to his daughter, Maria Powell, the wife of Thomas Eyre Powell of the Royal Bank, Foster Place, Dublin.   Thomas Eyre Powell acted as witness at the wedding of his sister-in-law, Belinda Wilhelmina Lysaght of 3 Foster Place and of 66 Blessington Street, when she married, on 23rd February 1864, John William McGowan, a builder and son of William McGowan.   Thomas Eyre Powell died at Hope Villa, Bray, Co. Wicklow, in 1920.
A daughter of Henry Lysaght  Elizabeth Lysaght of Edward Terrace, Summerhill, Dublin, died of consumtion on 6th January 1868, and her will was granted to her unmarried sister Jane Norcott Lysaght of 6 Leinster Road, Rathmines, Co. Dublin.

NB: It's interesting to note the Dublin addresses of Henry Lysaght of Bellwood - Blessington Street, Edward Terrace and Summerhill were streets associated with John Pennefather and Emily Courtenay, the Pennefathers and the Lysaghts being related by marriage.

(Earlier, the 1847 Street Directory for Dublin noted both the solicitor Henry Lysaght and an Andrew Lysaght as living at 42 Summerhill.  In July 1852, an Andrew Lysaght, barrister-at-law, married Frances Louisa Jemima O'Callaghan, the daughter of the late George O'Callaghan, of Mary Fort, Co. Clare -  this Andrew Lysaght, a possible son of Henry Lysaght of Elmville, died in 1859.  None of the genealogies name Andrew as a son of either the Henry Lysaghts, however....)

3) John.  (Son of William Lysaght and Elizabeth Knight.) According to a deed (606-469-416744), dated 23rd April 1798, John Lysaght of Woodpark, Cork, married Sarah Gubbins, the daughter of James Gubbins of Thinmore or Shinmore Castle, Limerick.  Under the marriage articles, land in Templeconnell, Cork, was transferred to William Lysaght, barrister of Mountnorth, and to Mr. Wrixon of Ballygiblin, Cork.

4) A deed, dated 17th July 1767, identifies Christopher Lysaght as the 4th son of William Lysaght of Mountnorth.  The Catholic Ballyclogh Burial record the burial on 17th November 1803, of a Christopher Lysaght.

5) Joseph Lysaght  (son of William Lysaght and Elizabeth Knight) who was sent as a child to his uncle in Portugal, where he died young.

6) Elizabeth Lysaght (daughter of William Lysaght and Elizabeth Knight) who married Edward Sayers of Doneraile in 1774.

7)  Grace Lysaght who married Rev. Mountifort Longfield, vicar of Desertserges, Cork on 1st November 1796 -  Grace and her brother, Joseph Lysaght, had been sent to be adopted by their kinsman, Joseph Lysaght, in Lisbon;  he had no children of his own and wished to ensure his property in Portugal was passed on to family.  (Following the defeat of James II at the Battle of the Boyne, a branch of the Clare Lysaghts, who were Catholic, had settled in Lisbon and done well there.) Grace was reared in a Lisbon convent where another Lysaght relation was the Mother Superior.  When she reached adulthood she returned to Ireland for a visit, and, while there and against her father's wishes, she married Rev. Mountiford Longfield - another piece of Lysaght lore has it that Grace fell into the water as she got off the boat in Cobh, and that Mountiford Longfield immediately jumped in to rescue her. The son of Grace and Mountifort Longfield was Robert Longfield, QC., Law Advisor of the Crown for Ireland.

Other Lysaghts:

The following Lysaght family of Limerick, Clare and Dublin are possible relations of the Mountnorth Lysaghts, the Lysaght family having originated in Co. Clare.

Mary Lysaght, daughter of John Lysaght, 1st Lord Lisle of Mountnorth, and of Catherine Deane, married Kingsmill Pennefather in 1754.  In 1789, their son, Rev. John Pennefather of Newport, Tipperary, married, as his second wife, Elizabeth Percival, the daughter of Captain William Percival of the 103rd Foot and Anne Waller, daughter of Richard Waller of Newport.  

Elizabeth Percival's brother was Captain Westby Percival who also married a member of a Lysaght family, although I have no idea if this Lysaght family was related to the Lysaght family of Mountnorth, Co. Cork.  Captain Westby Perceval's wife was Margaret Lysaght, daughter of the barrister Thomas Lysaght.  The couple married in St. Peter's, Dublin, in August 1817.

Another son of the solicitor Thomas Lysaght was Richard Lysaght who had been admitted to Trinity aged 15 on 10th November 1790 - he had been born in Co. Limerick to the solicitor Thomas Lysaght. In the 1830's, Richard Lysaght was an attorney, firstly at 17 Leeson Street, then at 11 Pembroke Street. Richard Lysaght, late of Limerick,  died on 18th June 1845 in Lower Pembroke Street aged 72. His wife had died there on 9th November 1838.
Earlier, Richard Lysaght had given an affadavit, dated 10th August 1826, to confirm the loss of certain legal papers which had been entrusted to his father Thomas Lysaght by the Butler family, who had employed him as law-agent;  these family papers had been lost when Thomas Lysaght sold up and moved from Limerick to Dublin in about 1790. Richard confirmed in his 1826 affadavit that his brother, Thomas Lysaght Junior, had been in the legal business with his father but both were now dead.

'Saunders Newletter' of 30th October 1821 reported that a bill belonging to the Lysaghts had been lost in the post. Payment was stopped so the bill was now worthless.....'John Balfe's Draft on Messrs.Murphy of Smithfield in favour of James Lysaght for 100l. dated 8th of October....1821...said Bill was enclosed in a letter...to Richard Lysaght Esq.,Ennis...information may be sent to Captain Percival, 14 Molesworth St...'   The daughter of Thomas Lysaght Senior was Margaret Lysaght, wife of Captain Westby Perceval who, in 1821, lived at 41 Molesworth Street.  

In 1824, Pigots Directory noted James Lysaght at 17 Leeson Street, the address associated with Richard Lysaght.  In 1824, Richard Lysaght was recorded at 10 Dawson Street.   In 1835, solicitor James Lysaght was noted at both 21 William Street and in Limerick.  A James Lysaght, solicitor, was recorded in 1830 at both 17 Andrew Street and in 32 Georges St, Limerick.

(It's unclear who James Lysaght was.  I went through the register of Drumcliffe Church, Ennis, in the National Archives.  The microfilm covered the years 1785 to 1829 and showed up the following Lysaght entries who may or may not be related to the Lysaght family discussed in this post:
9th March 1796 - the baptism of John, son of Mr. James Lysaght and his wife.
23rd February 1799 - the baptism of Catherine, daughter of Francis Lysaght and Charlotte his wife.
1803, date faded - the baptism of James, son of James and Jane Lysaght.
14th May 1808 - the burial of Mrs. Lysaght, wife of Mr. James Lysaght.
29th November 1817 - the marriage of Serjeant Thomas Hodson of the 20th to Margaret Lysaght of Glinfield, spinster. License.  Glinfield was difficult to decipher and might not be accurate.
7th December 1817 - George Inglis, assistant surgeon of 93rd Reg. to Miss Catherine Lysaght of Ennis. License.)

So Thomas Lysaght Senior, solicitor of Limerick, then Leeson St, Dublin, had Richard Lysaght of 17 Leeson St and then Pembroke Street in about 1775 and who might have operated in Ennis, Margaret who married Captain Westby Perceval in 1817, and Thomas Lysaght Junior who had been in business with his father, and possibly James Lysaght.

'Saunders Newsletter' of 27th August 1817 noted that Westby Perceval, who had recently married Miss Lysaght of Leeson Street, had arrived at his sister-in-law's house, Mrs. Hunter of Charlotte's Quay (Limerick), with his bride.   Mrs. Hunter might have been another daughter of Thomas Lysaght, solicitor, since I know of no Perceval/Hunter marriages.  She had two known daughters, Margaret and Charlotte Hunter, both named as beneficiaries in their uncle Westby Perceval's will.   A Mrs. Hunter, widow of the excise office Robert Hunter, died in Limerick in June 1824.  ('Waterford Mail', 19th June 1824.)

A Miss Catherine Lysaght, daughter of the late Thomas Lysaght, died in Church Street, Ennis, in July 1849.

The son of Thomas Lysaght, Thomas Lysaght Junior, had married Catherine Vallancey, youngest daughter of Colonel Charles Vallancey L.L.D., on 23rd October 1799.  The ceremony was performed by Rev. Dr. Kearney of Trinity College, Dublin. ('Saunders Newsletter', 23 October 1799.)
Thomas Lysaght Junior was the register and law agent to the Royal Dublin Society, a job he received through the influence of his father-in-law, Colonel Vallancey, and died of typhus fever in Ennis in 1819.   His widow, Catherine Lysaght, née Vallancey, died in January 1848 at Bayview near Kilrush, Co. Clare.
(Frances P. Vallancey, the daughter of Colonel Vallancey, married Lieutenant Shewbridge in 1775; she would die in Lower Mount Street on 20th October 1819, the widow of Mahor Shewbridge of the Royal Irish Artillery.
On 19th December 1815 in Windsor, Margaret Vallancey, the eldest daughter of the late Captain Vallancey and granddaughter of the late General Vallancey, married  Thomas Baverstsock.   Margaret Baverstock died, aged 81, on 18th September 1864.)

A son of Thomas Lysaght Junior and Catherine Vallancey was Richard Lysaght, named in his uncle Captain Westby Perceval's 1835 will.
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2015/11/the-perceval-family.html

Edmond Cole Bowen, attorney of Limerick, married Margaret, the second daughter of attorney Thomas Lysaght Junior and Catherine Vallancey in 1828.  In 1828, at the residence of her mother in Georges Square, Kilrush, Co.Clare, Margaret Cole Bowen gave birth to a son.  Margaret Lysaght, second daughter of Thomas Lysaght, married secondly Basil Lukey Davoren.

Basil's brother, George Davoren, married Charlotte Lysaght, also a daughter of Thomas Lysaght Junior and Catherine Vallancy.  The children of George and Charlotte Davoren were, amongst others, Catherine Frances Vallancy Davoren and Westby Percival Davoren.
George and Basil Lukey Davoren were the sons of Basil Davoren of Ennis.

The eldest daughter of Thomas Lysaght Junior of Leeson Street was Catherine Vallancy Lysaght who died in Baggot Street in 1834.

The son of Thomas Lysaght Junior and Catherine Vallancey was Major Thomas Vallancey Lysaght. In May 1820, one year after his father had died of typhus in Ennis, Co. Clare, Thomas V. Lysaght applied to enter the British Bengal Army as a cadet.  He was nominated by a director of the East India Company, Edward Parry and recommended by Captain Henry Vansittart of the Royal Navy.  His application papers (viewable via Find My Past - British India Office Births and Baptisms) confirms that he was the son of Thomas Lysaght, lately deceased, a solicitor who resided in Dublin.  Born in St. Peter's parish on 8th March 1804, he had received a classical education at the Feinaigle Institute. His next of kin was his widowed mother Catherine Lysaght.

Edward Parry of Gower Street, who nominated him, wrote a letter on his behalf to the army - 'My dear sir, I have prepared Mr Abington the proper officer at the India House who will be ready to receive Mr. Lysaght, get him passed through the forms of the India House and enable him to find a ship to sail in the course of the month....Pray remember me to my daughter, to Mrs. Henry Vansittart and to all our friends at Bisham....'
Edward Parry of the East India Company had married Emilia Vansittart, the daughter of Henry Vansittart and Amelia Morse;  Edward Parry's nephew was the Captain Henry Vansittart who had recommended Thomas Vallancey Lysaght as a cadet in 1820.   The Vansittart family of Bisham were close relations of Rear-Admiral Henry Vansittart who had married Mary Charity Pennefather, daughter of Rev. John Pennefather and Elizabeth Perceval of Newport, Tipperary, in 1809.

Thomas Vallancey Lysaght married his first wife, Fanny Sophia Hamilton in Dacca, Bengal, on 3rd April 1829.  The witnesses were members of the bride's family, Emily Anna Hamilton, Lt-Col. Charles W. Hamilton Charlotte Hamilton.
On 22nd January 1833, Thomas Vallancey Lysaght married, secondly, Maria O' Halloran in Dinapore, India.

Thomas Vallancey Lysaght and Maria O'Halloran had four daughters, all of whom were orphaned by 1849 and in receipt of an army pension accordingly.  They were Fanny Percival Lysaght born 13th March 1834, Maria Vallancey Lysaght born 17th August 1837, Caroline Bayly Lysaght born 20th April 1840 and Margaret Pennifather Lysaght born 19th April 1842.
Major Thomas Vallancey Lysaght's second wife, Maria O'Halloran was a member of the Limerick O'Halloran family - when Caroline Bayly Lysaght died in Leamington aged 18 in 1858, she was noted as the 3rd daughter of the late Thomas V. Lysaght and granddaughter of the late Major-General Sir Joseph O'Halloran.  Folowing the premature death of the Lysaght girls' parents in India, they had been taken in  by their uncle and aunt in Leamington, Lt. John Nicholas O'Halloran and Elizabeth Pringle.



















Friday, 13 April 2012

The Siblings of Rev. John Pennefather of Newport

Our maternal 5 x great-grandfather, Rev. John Pennefather of Newport, Tipperary was the son of Kingsmill Pennefather, who died young in 1777, and of Mary Lysaght.  This post concerns the siblings of Rev. John Pennefather.

Rev. John Pennefather was the second eldest son of Kingsmill Pennefather and Mary Lysaght;  the oldest son was Richard Pennefather (1756 - 1831), who succeeded their grandfather (since his father, Kingsmill died young) as the representative of the family.
Richard Pennefather lived at the family seat of New Park, and was a lieutenant-colonel of the Tipperary Militia.   Richard represented Cashel in parliament, having bought the seat in 1801 following the Act of Union. The Reform Bill opened up the franchise to a greater number of people and deprived the Pennefathers of their nomination which they held until 1831.  Richard was succeeded by his son, Matthew Pennefather.

Richard Pennefather had three wives, beginning in 1782 with Anna, the daughter of Matthew Jacob of St. Johnstown, Tipperary;  he then married Penelope, the widow of John Jacob Gledstones of Annesgift, in 1801;  Richard’s final wife was  Elizabeth, the daughter of  Nicholas Mansergh of Greenane in Dublin on 4th February 1809.   (Some of the genealogies name Elizabeth Mansergh as a cousin of Richard Pennefather, but I've as yet failed to decipher how this could be.  Richard Pennefather's sister, Catherine, married Daniel Mansergh, also a child of Nicholas Mansergh, and noted on the Mansergh family can be found later in this post....)

The Jacobs and the Gladstones/Gledstones were closely connected - the encumbered estates of the late Matthew Jacob of Mobarnane were up for sale in August 1851. Matthew Jacob had made his will on 20th April 1779 and this named his children as Samuel Jacob, James Gladstones Jacob, John Jacob, Sarah Jacob and Anna Maria Jacob. Now, in 1851, the land was the estate of Samuel and Robert Jacob.  Earlier in July 1849, the court of chancery, that all the creditors of the late Rev. Robert Staples Jacob and James Gladstones Jacob, should make themselves known as regards the estates of Johnstown and Mobarnane.  The courts named Samuel Jacob, Robert Jacob, Sarah Jacob, Alicia Jacob, Mary Juliana Jacob and James Jacob, 'by their next friend' Edward Lloyd.  The plaintiffs in the case were Anne Alicia Taylor and Maria Hannah Jacob.
On 16th May 1808, a marriage settlement was drawn up between Anne Alicia Jacob and Nathaniel Taylor - named in the settlement were Samuel Jacob and his wife Juliana, Sir Robert Staples, William Bagwell, Kingsmill Pennefather, Henry Langley, James Gledstanes Jacob and Mathew Jacob, son of Samuel Jacob.
Wray Palliser of Comragh, Co. Waterford, married Anne, the daughter of John Gledstanes who was reknowned as an early explorer of the west coast of America.  Lt-Col. Wray Palliser of Comeragh House put his estates up for sale in the encumbered estates court in 1862 - implicated legally in the sale were the wills of Thomas Gledstanes, made 24th September 1763,  the will of Matthew Jacob, made 27th April 1780 and the will of Anne Jacob made 13th April 1801.

Richard Pennefather not only married into the Jacob and Gledstones families, but he also married his first cousin, Elizabeth Mansergh.

Richard Pennefather had all of his eight children by his first wife, Anna Jacob.  They were:

1) Kingsmill Pennefather of the Tipperary Militia who died before his father in 1819. He married twice, to Maria Persse of Galway, and then to Grace Burton. (The widowed Grace would marry again, this time to Major Galeazzi of Florence.  She would die in September 1863. The papers had earlier noted the death, aged 87,  in Florence of a Michel Angelo Galeazzi on 4th November 1859. Was this the husband of Grace?) Kingsmill’s two children were Anna Pennefather who married, in May 1833 in Dublin,  Stephen Charles Moore, the eldest son of Stephen Moore of Barne, Tipperary, and Catherine who married the Hon. Henry Alexander Savile, the 2nd son of the Earl of Mexborough.
 
 2) His heir, Matthew Pennefather of New Park, who married Anna Connor, the daughter of Daniel Connor of Ballybricken, Cork.   Their children were named Daniel Francis Pennefather, Richard Pennefather, Mary Lavina Pennefather and Anna Pennefather.

http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2012/06/family-of-mary-lavina-pennefather-and.html

 3) William Pennefather who married Charity Maria, the daughter of Richard Long of Longfield.  His father, Richard, appointed him to the post of Mayor of Cashel in 1830. William and Charity Maria Pennefather lived at Lakefield, Tipperary.   They had Kingsmill Pennefather who died aged 11 at South Hill House, Mt Merrion, Dublin, on 27th December 1846, Richard Pennefather of Lakefield (1826 - 1876),  William Pennefather, Matthew Pennefather and William John Copley Lyndhurst Pennefather.
The eldest son, Richard Pennefather of Lakefield, married Emma Elizabeth, only surviving daughter of the late Robert Darwin Vaughan of Leamington Priors, in March 1857. The bride's uncle, Rev. Edward Humphry Dymock, performed the ceremony.
The daughter of Richard Pennefather and Emma Elizabeth Vaughan, Harriet Levina Pennefather, married in Kensington on 14th October 1884 Inspector General T.R. Warren of Kylenahoory, Co. Cork, and had Col. T.R.P. Warren. Widowed, Harriet Levina married, secondly in 1908, John Henry Gibson of Clifton. The papers noted Harriet as the niece of the late Col. Vaughan-Dymock of Bath. Harriet Levina Gibson lived alone in Ireland during the troubled era of 1916 to 1922 and suffered sectarian intimidation by the insurgents.  She died in February 1937 and is buried at the Rock of Cashel.

4) Dorothea Pennefather who married Richard Lockwood, then Thomas Sadleir, both of Tipperary.  Dorothea left no children and died in 1845.

5) Mary Anne Pennefather who married Lieutenant-Colonel John Lindsay of Tyrone.

6) Catherine Pennefather who married Colonel Owen Lloyd of Rockville, Roscommon. They had William Lloyd of Rockville, and Catherine Lloyd who married Rev. James Wentworth Mansergh.   Another daughter of Lt-Col. Owen Lloyd of the Roscommon Militia was Mary Hampton, widow of the late Rev. W.J. Wall of Surbiton, who died at Hawthorn Lodge, Castlebar, Co. Mayo, on 27th October 1868.
 A son of Owen Lloyd and of Elizabeth Pennefather was Richard Pennefather Lloyd (1810 - 1901) of Rockville who married Catherine, only daughter of James Kelly of Pembroke Street, in Booterstown, Co. Dublin, in July 1833.  A second wife was Maria Catherina Smith of Dublin who he'd married in Newtown Abbot in 1879.  On 14th September 1892 in Ripon, England, Richard Pennefather Lloyd of Morthestown, Co. Tipperary, married thirdly Charlotte Elizabeth. daughter of the late John White of Cashel and niece of Mrs. Bickersteth of West Lodge, Ripon.  The best man was named in the papers as Richard Lloyd Pennefather of Marlow, a relation of the groom.   Mrs. Charlotte Elizabeth Pennefather Lloyd of 15 Brock Street, Bath, formerly of Torquay, died on 24th September 1911, widow of barrister Richard Lloyd - probate was granted to Richard Pennefather Lloyd of Goold's Cross, Tipperary, and to Rev. Reginald Wynne Windsor of Bath.  Beneficiaries were Elizabeth Florence Bickersteth and Richard Lloyd Pennefather.

Catherine Lloyd, née Pennefather,  wife of Lt-Col. Lloyd of Rockville, died aged 79 in September 1866 at Ivybridge, South Devon.

7)  Margaret Pennefather (died 1874) who married Ambrose Going (1785 - 1857), of Bally Phillip Tipperary in February 1811. Their offspring were William Going, Richard Pennefather Going, John Going who died aged 51 at Wilford oin November 1851, Anna Going who married Rev. Anthony Armstrong, Margaret Isabella Going who married Christopher F. Tuthill MD of Fitzwilliam Square in August 1841 and who died at Rockvale, Co. Tipperary, on 14th June 1858,  Elizabeth Frances Going who married John Hervey Adams of Northlands, Co. Cavan, eldest son of the Dean of Cashel, in May 1846,  and Dorothea Going who married Samuel Murray Going of Liskeveen House, Co. Tipperary, in Ballingarry in May 1848.
  8) Eliza who married Major Acheson Montgomery Moore of Co. Tyrone, and then Sir John Judkin Fitzgerald of Lisheen, She had two children - Sir Thomas Judkin Fitzgerald, 3rd baronet and Anne Montgomery More.

The youngest brother of Rev. John Pennefather was William Pennefather (1765 - 1849), of Cork, son of Kingsmill Pennefather and Mary Lysaght, who married Frances (born circa 1775), the daughter of Francis Nisbett of Derrycairne, Leitrim.   The children of William Pennefather and Frances Nisbett were:

 a) William (1795 - 1826) , who died young.

 b) Jane Pennefather who married Daniel Connor of Ballybricken, Cork in 1826.

 c) Margaret Pennefather (1801 - 1873) who married Richard Warren, MD of Lisgoold (1796 - 1870), son of Rev. Robert Warren  and Margaret Pennefather of Crookstown, Cork.  They had two daughters - Frances Warren who married twice to Captain Oldham and then William Connor of Wilton, Cork;  Augusta Warren married a relative, Richard Lane Warren.

d)  Elizabeth Pennefather (born circa 1805) married in January 1826 Phineas Bury (1772 - 1843)  of Wallestown House, Little Island, Cork.  Jane was noted as the daughter of William Pennefather of Lower Terrace, Cork. Phineas was the son of Phineas Bury, the elder, and of Jane Aldworth.  Phineas, who married Elizabeth Pennefather, was in the army, being a captain in the 57th Regiment he was also a Justice of the Peace.  His will would later make mention of a first wife by the name of Eliza Lart or Hart.
Phineas Bury and Elizabeth Pennefather  lived at Little Island, Cork, and had three children - Frances Jane, Phineas, and William Phineas, although William wasn't mentioned in his father's will, which was proved on 21st July 1843.  Phineas Bury named as his trustees Richard Aldworth of Newmarket, Co. Cork, and his brother-in-law, Richard Daniel Pennefather. These two were also named as the executors of the will, as was his wife Elizabeth. The will provided for Phineas' two sisters, Jane and Hester Bury, and also named Phineas' only daughter as Frances Jane Bury, and his only son as Phineas Bury.  Son William Bury must have been born following the drawing up of the will.

Daughter Frances Jane Bury married Major Tuckey of the 41st Regiment, who died young leaving her with two daughters. The family appeared on both the 1871 and 1881 UK censuses, living with Frances Jane’s unmarried brother, Phineas Bury, who was a major in the East Kent Militia.
In 1890  this Major Phineas Bury was accused of libel -  the accusation centred around a libellous letter received by a fellow Corkman and old friend of the Bury family, Colonel Percival Robert Champion of Combermere, Cork, following an evening at their mutual gentlemans’ club in London. The letter accused Champion of being a bounder and a Fenian. Both accusations would have excluded him from the club and heaped ridicule and contempt on him. He believed that the anonymous letter, which used a number of French phrases, had been written by Phineas Bury, since Phineas was known to intersperse his conversation with snatches of the French language.  Bury was found not guilty.
William Phineas Bury, son of Phineas Bury and Elizabeth Pennefather, married Harriet Forbes, the daughter of Arthur Forbes of Newstone, Co. Meath, on 29th August 1867 in Cheltenham.

e) Frances Mary Pennefather (1807 - 1867) married Arthur St.George Herbert Stepney in 1842.  He was the son of Herbert Rawson Stepney.  Arthur was born in Ireland in 1815 and died in India in 1850. He was of the Coldstream Guards.

 f)  Richard Daniel Pennefather (1815 - 1881) married, on October 7th 1868, Sarah Anna de Montmorency, the daughter of Hervey de Montmorency, 4th Viscount Mountmorres and Sarah Shaw.  The wierd names make this family easy to trace. The Montmorency family were an ancient French family who came to Ireland in the 15th century, settling in Tipperary and Kilkenny. The family seat was Castlemorres, Co. Kilkenny; they were at some stage known by the family name of ‘Morres’, before Frances Hervey, the 3rd Viscount, resumed the ancient name, by royal licence, of Montmorency.
Richard Daniel Pennefather, who married Sarah Anne de Monmorency, died 7th September 1881; he had lived at Kilbraccan, Co. Leitrim, and had been a lieutenant-Colonel in the East Kent Militia. The administration of his will was granted to the Hon. Arthur Hill Trevor de Montmorency, a doctor who had studied at Trinity College, Dublin, and who lived in 1881 at 36 Waterloo Road, Dublin.  Arthur Hill etc. was the son of Hervey de Montmorency and Sarah Shaw and was, therefore, the brother-in-law of Richard Daniel Pennefather.
In 1871, Richard Daniel, aged 52, was living in Penge, Surrey, with his wife, Sarah Anna, who, at 28, was much younger than him. Their son, William Pennefather, aged 1, was there, as was their newborn baby Mary Pennefather.  Living immediately next door was the unmarried Jane Pennefather, aged 51, who was living on dividends. She was sharing the house with George Le Hunte, who owned Atramont, Co. Wexford, and who had married Mary Pennefather, the daughter of Edward Pennefather, the Lord Chief Justice of Ireland.  Jane and Mary were sisters, and were close relations of Richard Daniel Pennefather.
Richard Daniel’s wife, Sarah Anna Pennefather, died in 1912.  She appeared on the 1911 UK Census, living in Bournemouth. She had been born in Ballybrack, just south of Killiney, Co. Dublin;  her unmarried 37-yr-old daughter, Mary Eva de Montmorency Pennefather was living there with her - this daughter had been born in Little Island, Cork. The return states that there had been three children born to Richard Daniel and Sarah Anna Pennefather and that they had all survived. A second daughter was most likely Anna de Montmorency More, wife of Alfred Thomas More, who administered her mother’s will with Mary Eva de Montmorency Pennefather in 1912.

Of Interest: The Will of JANE NISBITT - Effects under £200 10 Nov 1866 The Will of Jane Nisbitt late of Ballybricken Co.Cork Spinster deceased who died 23 Oct 1866 at the same place was proved at Cork by the oath of Richard Daniel Pennefather of the Junior United Service Club, London,  Major of the East Kent Regiment of Militia the sole Executor.


The sisters of Rev. John Pennefather of Newport, Co. Tipperary, were:
  
Mary Pennefather, daughter of Kingsmill Pennefather and Mary Lysaght,  who married Daniel Connor the son of George Connor of Ballybricken. Her niece, Jane Pennefather - the daughter of her brother William, married  her son, Daniel Connor of Ballybricken.
http://alison-stewart.blogspot.ie/2013/02/the-connoroconnor-family-of.html

Catherine Pennefather (1771 - 1834) , daughter of Kingsmill Pennefather and Mary Lysaght, married Daniel Mansergh (1752 - 1823) of Cashel in 1788. He was the son of Nicholas Mansergh and Elizabeth Lockwood and was the High Sheriff of Tipperary.  One of Catherine and Daniel’s daughters, Mary Mansergh, married Edward Pennefather of Marlow near Cashel, on 4th February 1809.

Nicholas Mansergh of Grenane married Elizabeth Lockwood of Cashel on 9th December 1750.  They had two sons, Nicholas Southcote Mansergh who married Elizabeth Carden in 1770, and Daniel Mansergh who married Catherine Pennefather in 1788.  All the online genealogies mention a daughter, but never name her, and I presume that she was the Elizabeth Mansergh who married Richard Pennefather, brother of Catherine Pennefather, as his third wife on 4th February 1809.

The children of Catherine Pennefather and Daniel Mansergh were Nicholas Mansergh (1789 - 19th September 1865) of Macroney Castle,  Daniel Mansergh, James Mansergh who married Catherine Lloyd, the daughter of Lt. Col, Owen Lloyd, Margaret who married Major Jacks, Elizabeth who married Richard Martin of Castle Jane, Co. Cork,  and Mary Mansergh who married Edward Pennefather of Marlow in 1824.

The Marlow Pennefathers were closely related to the New Park Pennefathers, having descended from the same ancestors, Mathew Pennefather and Levina Kingsmill, via their third son,William Pennefather of Marlow.
William Pennefather (1708 - 1772) of Marlow married Anne the daughter of Lovelace Taylor of Noan, Co. Tipperary.   William and Anne Pennefather had two sons, Thomas, who died unmarried, and John Pennefather whose son, Thomas Pennefather, succeeded to the Marlow estate when his uncle died without children.  Thomas (1760 - 1828) married Mary Moore in November 1783, and had two sons, Thomas Pennefather  of Maryville, who married, in 1818, Mary, the daughter of Vere Dawson Hunt of Cappagh - these were the parents of  Fanny Mary Dorothy Pennefather, Anna Pennefather who married Col. Hunt, and the Rev. Thomas Pennefather, Vicar of Kiltennel, who had been born in 1823 and who married Catherine Sophia Elrington. (On 7th June 1859 in Templeshambo Church, by the Rev. C.M. Elrington of Somersetshire, assisted by Rev. R.B.F. Elrington of Lower Brixham, brother of the bride, Rev. Thomas Pennefather of Monart, to Catherine Sophia, youngest daughter of Rev. N.P. Elrington of Ferns.)
The only daughter of Thomas Pennefather (1760 - 1828) and Mary Moore was the Dorothea Pennefather who married Fitzmaurice Hunt of Cappagh in August 1827 - the wedding breakfast was held at Maryville, the residence of the bride's brother, Thomas Pennefather.

The second son of Thomas Pennefather (1760 - 1828) and Mary Moore was the Edward Pennefather of Marlow who married Mary, the daughter of Daniel Mansergh and Catherine Pennefather, in 1824.

The children of Edward Pennefather and Mary Mansergh of Marlow were:

a) Thomas John Pennefather who married, on 22nd December 1856 in Mt. Talbot Church, Co. Roscommon, Katherine L. Lloyd,  the eldest daughter of Richard Pennefather Lloyd of Herbert Place, Dublin, barrister-at-law.  Richard Pennefather Lloyd was the son of Lt-Col. Owen Lloyd and Catherine Pennefather (daughter of Richard Pennefather of New Park...see above!)  The children of Thomas John Pennefather and Katherine Lloyd were Adeline who married Arthur William Radbourne, Hortense Mary who married in 1849 Hugh Hamon Massy of Riversdale, Co. Limerick, and Richard Lloyd Pennefather of Marlow, who was living there in 1911 with his family.  Hortense Mary who married Hugh Hamon Massy was probably the Miss H. Pennefather of Marlow who, at a party in Thomastown Castle in 1881, stepped through a window onto an imaginary balcony, toppled 30 feet and was caught, completely unharmed, by some gentlemen who had stepped outside for a smoke. I'm sure she saw the funny side later.

b) Daniel Pennefather who emigrated to Australia in 1850 and who married Elizabeth Kerr, daughter of Edward Carr,

c) Edward Pennefather who died unmarried,

d) Captain George Pennefather who married Mary Hawthorn Kihdall in Dublin in 1869. The wife of Captain George Pennefather of the 65th Regiment gave birth to a son on 19th September 1875 at Macroney Castle which was one of the Mansergh residences.  A daughter, Mary Hawthorn Pennefather, was born at Northumberland Road, Dublin, on 26th August 1870 - she later married Richard Pennefather of Wilford.

e) Captain Nicholas Pennefather (1835 - 1905). On 2nd August 1864, in Hythe, Kent, Nicholas Pennefather, Lieutenant in the 83rd regiment, married Catherine, the daughter of the late Thomas Butler of Hythe.  In 1881, Major Nicholas and Catherine Pennefather were living in Kensington; staying with them was Nicholas's Irish 'niece', Caroline Elizabeth Pennefather.  She had been born circa 1860 in Ireland, and I presume, unless there were two of them, she was the Caroline Elizabeth Pennefather who married Allen Hamilton Morgan, solicitor, in Thurles on 3rd September 1890, the son of the late R.I.C. District Inspector Allen Morgan of Clontarf.  This Caroline Elizabeth was the daughter of the late Thomas Bolton Pennefather of Thurles, who was a member of the Ballynira Pennefathers who descended from Mathew Pennefather and Lavinia Kingsmill as do all the Pennefathers in this blog.  Thomas Bolton Pennefather who was the son of Richard Pennefather and Harriet Maria Piers of Ballynira/Ballyneira, had married Elizabeth, the daughter of John Smithwick, in Cork on 3rd October 1855.

Margaret Pennefather (circa 1771 - 1833), daughter of Kingsmill Pennefather and Mary Lysaght,  married  Rev.Robert Warren of  Crookstown, Cork, the son of Sir Robert Warren of Warrenscourt.  (Margaret’s niece, also Margaret, married her son, Richard Warren.  This niece, Margaret, was the daughter of Margaret No. 1’s brother, William Pennefather and Frances Nisbett, see above. These people are incestuous and confusing...)

And finally....
Whose son was this? On 24th July 1843 in Dublin, John Pennefather, merchant of London and St. Vincent, married Susan, eldest daughter of the late John Darlington of Monastery, Co. Wicklow. This might have been a second marriage for John Pennefather....A Louise Sophia Pennefather was baptised in Jamaica on 12th December 1830 by John Lisset (Lysaght??) Pennefather and Anne Brisbane. Was wife Anne Brisbane a relation of the Governor of St. Vincent, Sir Charles Brisbane, who died in Kingstown, Jamaica, in February 1830?  (Arethusa Georgiana Brisbane, daughter of Sir Charles, married Rev. William Windsor Berry, Vicar of Stanwell, Middlesex, in June 1840.  Sir John Frederick Ewart married Lavinia Brisbane, eldest daughter of Sir Charles Brisbane, of Brisbane, Scotland.)

A grandson of this stray John Pennefather and of Susan Darlington was later baptised as John Lysaght Forbes Pennefather in May 1892.    The use of the Lysaght name in conjunction with the Pennefather family name seems to suggest that this John Pennefather was a descendant of Kingsmill Pennefather and Mary Lysaght of Tipperary, but where he fits in, I have no idea.  

The 'Liverpool Mercury' of 13th May 1865 reported the death, on April 7th 1865, in St. Vincent, of Mr John Pennefather, late of Kilkenny Ireland.

The children of this John Pennefather, merchant, and of Susan Darlington were:

Siblings Frederick and Susan Martha Pennefather were baptised in Carshalton, Surrey, on 8th November 1846.  
Clara B. Pennefather - born circa 1853 in Roby, Lancashire; she was living in Dublin in 1901 with her maternal uncle, John Darlington, and his family in Glasthule;  then in Bray in 1911.   Earlier in 1871 she was working as an assistant teacher in the household of retired customs officer, John Forbes, who had been born in Birmingham in about 1798 and whose wife, Mary, had been born in the West Indies in about 1817.  (They married in Liverpool in Jan 1830, she was Mary Elenore, daughter of Henry St. Hill, colonial treasurer of the island of Trinidad.)

The military records of son Robert Forbes Pennefather state that he had joined the army in Portsmouth in January 1879, and stated he had been born near the town of Kilkenny.  The  'Carlow Post' of 1st December 1860 noted that, on November 28th 1860, at Darver House, Co. Kilkenny, the wife of John Pennefather had had a son.    Darver House is in Jenkinstown, north of Kilkenny town.
Robert Forbes Pennefather's next of kin was his older brother Richard Pennefather of London.   Robert Forbes Pennefather, son of John Pennefather and Susan Darlington,  married Eleanor Alexandra Gosnell in Amritsar, India, on 1st February 1886.  They had Eileen born 7th July1890,
John Lysaght Forbes Pennefather born 9th May 1892, Gladys Eileen born 11th June 1889, Aimee Constance Forbes Pennefather born 24th August 1894, Bessie born 5th December 1896, and Eric born 17th December 1898.

The daughter of John Pennefather and Susan Darlington, Susan Martha Pennefather (born Ireland 1845) married Henry Rait of 5 Mountjoy Place in Dublin in 1872.  He had married before -  Henry Rait, (1827 - 1876) silk mercer, son of George Rait, married Betsey Wemyss, daughter of John Wemyss on 2nd March 1858 in Rampore, Bengal, India.
Henry Rait died on 28th April 1876 soon after his marriage to Susan Martha Pennefather - the will of Henry Rait of 5 Mountjoy Place and of Hillsboro House, Thicket Road, Anerley, Surrey, was proved on 4th January 1878 by the executor Sir John Wemyss, bart of Bengal and by his widow, Susan Martha Rait and by John Darlington (Susan's uncle) of Dublin.  The eldest son of Henry Rait was George Wemyss Rait, born in Bengal on on 13th December 1858.
 The mentions four older children by his first wife, and one child by Susan Martha when he was making his will in 1876.  The executor, Sir John Wemyss of Bogie, Fifeshire, died in Bengal on 8th March 1878 - he was noted as the son of Sir James Wemyss, writer of Kirkcaldy,  and the papers noted that he himself had never married.
The UK Census for 1881 reveals the widowed, Irish-born Susan Martha Rait living in Camberwell with sons, Walter W. J. Rait, born Ireland 1873, and  Donald H. Rait, born Anerley, Surrey, in 1877.   Her stepchildren were Ester M. Rait born India 1861,  Bertha H. Rait born Scotland 1864 and Henry H.W. Rait born in Scotland in 1868.
On 5th November 1892 in West Hampstead, Susan Martha Rait married Thomas Henry Atkinson, a widower, of 1 Rostrevor Terrace, Clontarf.  He died there in 1895.  Susan Martha Atkinson, née Pennefather, died at Rowanville, 3 Churchill Road, Hampshire, on 19th December 1907 with probate to her son, Col. John Walter L.Forbes Rait.  A surgeon with the Indian Army, he died in Penwarne Radlet, Hertfordshire, on 9th April 1926 with probate to  Isabella Gray Thompson Rait.  He had been born in Dublin on 5th April 1873 (this from his obituary).